Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Road vs MTB pedals/shoes

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-20, 08:06 PM
mattscq

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked 33 Times in 24 Posts
Road vs MTB pedals/shoes

I've been riding Crankbrothers Eggbeaters on a road bike for almost 9 months or so now and they were my first clipless set up. I figured since I would walk quite a bit (being in the city), a cross or mtb shoe would serve me well. I've come to quite like the setup and find it very easy to clip/unclip.

I have however been curious about 3-bold road shoes. My friend has some old Shimano pedals he can lend/give me to try out but I'd need to get some new shoes and cleats. Is this a worthwhile investment? What has been your experience with the two systems? Will I experience substantially better power transfer?

I don't actually walk that far so the initial advantage of XC/MTB shoes for me is kind of moot now.

Also being in the city, I notice a lot of people in regular clothes on road bikes when they commute and they seem to pedal road pedals with sneakers. It doesn't look like the best idea but it does seem like for a quick stop, it's do-able without having to suit up whereas I can't imagine pedaling eggbeaters with anything else.

Ideas?
Old 06-14-20, 08:34 PM
Steve B.

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel, Specialized Epic Evo

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Quoted: 3234 Post(s)
Liked 2,079 Times in 1,177 Posts
Originally Posted by mattscq