Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Cycling shorts

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-22, 08:27 AM
mtn drew

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Cycling shorts

So I'm new to mtn biking and just want to ask if a cycling shorts is a must have? Thanks
Old 03-11-22, 08:34 AM
pdlamb

Bikes: Fuji Touring, Novara Randonee

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Quoted: 2599 Post(s)
Liked 1,924 Times in 1,208 Posts
Cycling shorts aren't required to ride any kind of bicycle.

The longer your rides, though, the more you may come to appreciate them.
Likes For pdlamb:
Old 03-11-22, 08:38 AM
prj71

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 2975 Post(s)
Liked 1,180 Times in 770 Posts
Depends if you like chaffing on your butt or not.

Google is always just a few clicks away...

https://gearjunkie.com/biking/what-a...-how-to-choose
Likes For prj71:
Old 03-11-22, 08:43 AM
PeteHski

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 4388 Post(s)
Liked 4,828 Times in 2,984 Posts
Originally Posted by mtn drew
So I'm new to mtn biking and just want to ask if a cycling shorts is a must have? Thanks
Not a must-have, but generally a pretty good idea. Good cycling shorts have a few features that make them ideal for cycling. Things like the fit and cut, pocket positioning, liners, sweat wicking properties, hard wearing etc.
But be aware that there are people around here who go out of their way to avoid any form of cycling attire.
Likes For PeteHski:
Old 03-11-22, 08:48 AM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Quoted: 6178 Post(s)
Liked 4,796 Times in 3,308 Posts
The more serious and hard that you ride, the more you'll find that the stuff made specifically for cycling is the better stuff to use.