Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

DIY Bike Computer: case, mounts [hypothetical discussion]

Search
Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-19, 09:52 AM
alias5000

Bikes: HP Velotechnik Streetmachine GTE, 2015 Devinci Silverstone SL4, 2012 Cannondale Road Tandem 2, Circe Morpheus, 2021 Rose Backroad, 2017 Devinci Hatchet

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 12 Posts

Hey guys,
2 disclaimers ahead of time:
1. I'm an electrical engineer and this post relates a bit to that. The electronics/programming parts are fine with me.
2. I'm on vacation. On vacation, my mind generates new ideas eventually (a good sign of resting!), but usually, vacation has ended before I can realize those ideas. During work weeks, I usually don't want to do more electronics stuff in my spare time. Cycling is better. In that light, I do expect that this post is more about musing on how to do it, rather than actually implementing it. Please be aware.

Here we go:
I am a fan of standard bike computers, i.e. wheel magnet, long battery life, mount&forget. I'm not interested in strava, power meter, or HR functionality. However, something that has always bugged me is that some more functionality (mostly software-based) is sold at gigantic extra cost. The difference between a VDO M2.1 and and M6 in hardware and software isn't THAT big. I have an M3 (plus mounts on 5 bikes with 3 different wheel sizes). I like this one, but would like to have more functions, such as:
- support more than 2 different bikes. Auto-detect them.
- altimeter functions
- maybe some basic compass & navigation stuff?
- computer connectivity and basic information storage?