Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Creating voice navigation using RideWithGPS

Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Creating voice navigation using RideWithGPS

Old 07-26-21, 01:44 PM
raybo
Bike touring webrarian

Bikes: I tour on a Waterford Adventurecycle. It is a fabulous touring bike.

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked 91 Times in 50 Posts
I'm looking into paying to get voice navigation on my tours. I have a trial month Basic subscription to rideWithGPS. The cue sheets it generates are incredibly verbose. It appears you need a Premium membership to edit these cue sheets down to something that doesn't comment every .1 mile. Since I only have a Basic subscription I can't seem to do this? Is this correct, or am I missing something?

Last edited by raybo; 07-26-21 at 02:05 PM.
Old 08-03-21, 09:45 AM
adamrice 
mosquito rancher

Bikes: Bob Jackson 853 Arrowhead; Felt VR30; Kinesis UK RTD; Hujsak tandem

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked 181 Times in 133 Posts
I've got a premium membership, and I don't get the kind of super-frequent updates you're describing. AFAICT, if you're using voice nav, you potentially get three prompts per cue: One right after your last cue, one about ¼ mile before your upcoming cue, and one right at your cue. You can turn off the first two (More > Settings > Navigation > Advance Cue Warnings & Nearing Cue Warnings). If you're on a twisty-turny route, you're going to get a lot of prompts.

There are some unnecessary cues, such as where a road changes names, which add to the auditory clutter. These are usually an artefact of automatic route generation, and if you really want to, you can edit them out. You can also add in manual cues to remind yourself of important waypoints.