Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

cycling for years w/o knowing a thing

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Old 05-05-21, 08:22 PM
indiecollin

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello All,

I'm new to this forum and I was hoping I could learn a thing or 2 about being a better cyclist. Some background on me, I started riding roadbikes when I was 23 and have been doing so for the past 5 years. I've probably rode over 10k miles and I've spent thousands of dollars on cycling. I really love riding as a hobby though I haven't been doing it much over the pandemic. Despite all I've said, I hardly know anything about these beautiful machines and I decided that today I would try and change that.

I ride a 2013 cervelo R3 with a hodgepodge of different components. Whenever something goes wrong with my bike I just find myself throwing money at the problem instead of getting a better understanding of what caused the problem so I can be a more informed consumer. I also feel like I have a really good bike with features I don't completely understand (like my electric derailleur that sometimes seems to have a mind of its own). I feel like I tried to get a bunch of "pro" stuff while still being fairly amateur. Where should I begin in better understanding my bike, cycling in general, and how to properly maintain/repair my bikes?
Old 05-05-21, 09:18 PM
Wildwood 
Veteran, Pacifist

Bikes: Bikes??? Thought this was social media?!?

Mentioned: 284 Post(s)
Quoted: 3874 Post(s)
Liked 4,779 Times in 2,204 Posts
Welcome to BF.

Youtube is your friend. Usually.