Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Light touring with (modern) road bikes

Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Old 03-31-16, 08:31 AM
TheRef

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 8 Posts

Lately I've taken interest in bike touring but I have ZERO experience with it. I've been reading books and blogs and one day I hope to do the Trans AM route but that will be years before I can do it.
My teenager son has shown some interest as well and we are planing a few overnight (or 3 day weekend) trips over the spring and summer but here is our dilemma.

Both of our road bikes don't have rack mounts but will take a 28mm tire that would be helpful as some routes may include crushed limestone paths (up to 50 miles of it). I'm not sure of our options are for carrying gear. I've seen those seat post mounted racks that claim to hold up to 20lbs each. I figured that between the 2 of us that should be enough but I'm not sure about putting an extra 20lbs + the rack itself on my carbon FUji Gran fondo.

Another option would be a cargo trailer or 2 but I've heard that those slow you down a lot, but the plus side it allows for a lot more gear to be carried. Food is not an issue as most of our planned routes are within well populated places with plenty of access to food and drinks.

What are your experiences with light touring as a road rider. Are there any other options I'm missing??

Note: I've posted this here instead on the touring forum to get a different perceptive from those hardcore touring people but I'll be posting there for some advise as well.
Old 03-31-16, 08:38 AM
10 Wheels
Galveston County Texas

Bikes: 02 GTO, 2011 Magnum

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Quoted: 1349 Post(s)
Liked 1,243 Times in 621 Posts
502 mile tour