Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Performance condition not showing - Garmin 745

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Performance condition not showing - Garmin 745

Old 07-21-21, 08:04 AM
  #1  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,601

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 667 Post(s)
Liked 302 Times in 198 Posts
Performance condition not showing - Garmin 745

Does anyone know if Garmin pushed out an update to their Forerunner devices? I have the Forerunner 745 that I also use to track my bike rides. The watch used to tell me my performance condition within 20mins of my ride. Lately through the watch doesn't tell me anything at all. I do get performance condition for my ride when the ride is uploaded to Garmin Connect. But I do not get the status of my performance condition when I start my ride displaying on my watch.

Any ideas what's going on? Thank you.
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 07-21-21, 12:07 PM
  #2  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 21,952
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14560 Post(s)
Liked 5,533 Times in 3,163 Posts
My Fenix doesn't do it every ride, or if it does I miss the notification sometimes.

Performance condition is a data field, you can add it to a screen and see it in real time. Garmin says the purpose is that the number should fall off a cliff before you bonk, so you can avoid the pain by limping home when it starts to drop. You already know the watch is calculating so that won't really narrow anything down, but it'll make the data available when you want it. (Still takes 10+ minutes to get a read though.)
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 07-21-21, 02:58 PM
  #3  
Iride01
Hits [ENTER] b4 thinking
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 7,545

Bikes: '20 Tarmac Disc Comp '91 Schwinn Paramount '78 Raleigh Competition GS

Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2955 Post(s)
Liked 1,561 Times in 1,137 Posts
Some of those things Garmin shows you or doesn't show you at the end of a ride are based on the ride length. I don't know if that is though. But things like when to ask about bottles and Calories consumed is something you can change in the settings.

Any time I have odd things happening after an update, I do a reset and sometimes that seems to get everything working as expected.
Iride01 is online now  
Old 07-21-21, 08:59 PM
  #4  
F22c_legs
Red Pill/MGTOW Ambassador
 
F22c_legs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 9 Posts
I thought Performance Condition acts as an indicator for what level of performance one should expect from their ride. The higher the number, the better. Mine seems to never go above +2, but never below -2.
F22c_legs is offline  
Old 07-21-21, 10:03 PM
  #5  
atwl77
Kamen Rider
 
atwl77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: KL, MY
Posts: 953

Bikes: Fuji Transonic Elite, Marechal Soul Ultimate, Dahon Dash Altena

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked 187 Times in 118 Posts
I think it has to do with intensity as well. If I'm doing a very easy recovery ride, likely my Forerunner 945 would never show it but if I'm doing a regular interval session then it'll beep and tell me my current performance condition within the first 5-10 minutes.

But the notification is just a part of it, it can be a constant data field as @Seattle Forrest said.
atwl77 is offline  
Old 07-22-21, 01:44 PM
  #6  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,601

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 667 Post(s)
Liked 302 Times in 198 Posts
Thanks folks. Good input/feedback. I did some searching of the Garmin forums too. Seems like there is some kind of threshold that needs to be covered before telling me my performance condition. What threshold is though is up for debate. I was working pretty hard in my ride yesterday and zilch. No reporting on the watch. When I saved my ride the performance condition was reported. But nothing in advance of the ride. Adding the data field might be the way to go.

Iride01 Doesn't a reset erase any of your records/training history?
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 07-22-21, 02:30 PM
  #7  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 21,952
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14560 Post(s)
Liked 5,533 Times in 3,163 Posts
Because I'm over 40 now 😡 I have a page set up on my watch to show me the "cost" of what I'm doing. I think that makes me a decent rider is being able to ignore it in the moment, and then the next day I can feel sluggish. So I've got it showing some metrics about how much I'm putting in and what it's taking out of me. Performance condition and intensity factor are neighbors because they tell a similar story. I'm also showing things like TSS, and the aerobic/anaerobic TE split. None of this is perfect, just like driving your car under the speed limit doesn't guarantee you won't hit anything, but it's good at a glance info to point me in the right direction.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 07-22-21, 02:33 PM
  #8  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 21,952
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14560 Post(s)
Liked 5,533 Times in 3,163 Posts
Originally Posted by F22c_legs View Post
I thought Performance Condition acts as an indicator for what level of performance one should expect from their ride. The higher the number, the better. Mine seems to never go above +2, but never below -2.
​​​​​​You know I've heard different people say different things about what it's "for" and I don't know how much Garmin has clarified. I've heard people say they've had days when they felt off but ran or rode well and that thing gave them a better idea what to expect during their event. I've also read DCR (I think?) say you should be able to watch it in real time like an early warning system for bonking.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 07-22-21, 08:46 PM
  #9  
atwl77
Kamen Rider
 
atwl77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: KL, MY
Posts: 953

Bikes: Fuji Transonic Elite, Marechal Soul Ultimate, Dahon Dash Altena

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked 187 Times in 118 Posts
Similar to their VO2Max estimate, Performance Condition appears to be based on the relationship between heart rate and power output, and is also "gameable" the same way - doing low cadence intervals, which tend to result in lower heart rates compared to high cadence intervals at the same power, typically make the Garmin think that you're doing better, and reports a higher Performance Condition score.

Well, at least that's applicable for short term stuff. In the longer term (e.g. several hours or longer), that HR-to-Power comparison can become more relevant and indicate fatigue or early bonking warning system, since generally as you get more tired your HR is likely to be higher for the same power output, in relation to how you were at the beginning of the ride.
atwl77 is offline  
Old 07-23-21, 08:13 AM
  #10  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,601

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 667 Post(s)
Liked 302 Times in 198 Posts
I am starting to wonder if my old HRM is somehow incompatible with the calculation of the performance condition. Which sounds ridiculous because at the end of my ride, when I am looking at my ride metrics I see the PC graph. I am going to experiment today and leave my chest HRM at home and go off the wrist based HRM of the 745.

If the chest strap HRM though is not the cause of the PC not reporting on my 745 within the first 20ish minutes of my ride I'm stumped. I guess I'll just have to learn to live without it.
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 07-23-21, 09:05 AM
  #11  
Iride01
Hits [ENTER] b4 thinking
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 7,545

Bikes: '20 Tarmac Disc Comp '91 Schwinn Paramount '78 Raleigh Competition GS

Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2955 Post(s)
Liked 1,561 Times in 1,137 Posts
Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
Iride01 Doesn't a reset erase any of your records/training history?
On Garmin Edges and some of their other devices there are two different types of reset. One does and one doesn't. You probably should get on Garmin's site and search for resetting the Forerunner 745 and be sure.

On my Edge 530, if I hold the power button for >10 seconds, it'll keep the user data and settings. I have to go into the setting to clear everything. Different Garmin's might require different button or buttons to be pushed/held.
Iride01 is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.