Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Bike fit - reach too long?

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Old 01-02-21, 03:01 PM
weeniecyclist

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi there,

I am new to road bikes, have been ridden a cross bike / fitness bike with aggressive setup so far. Ordered a road bike with all tools saying I should get the 56 cm size.
It translate to 56 cm seat tube, 56 cm effective horizontal top tube, 393 mm reach and 563 mm stack.
I feel like in this position the reach is too far out. Have taken this sloppy picture, hope it's good enough. The stem is 10 cm long, I feel like shortening it by 1 cm is not enough, and going shorter will affect the bike handling too much ( so I read).

Problem is that the 54 cm size version doesn't look that different, when put into the bikegeocalc visualizer besides the lower stack with 546 mm. Effective reach (front saddle to the handle bar) will be shortened by 8 mm. The 383 mm reach , thus 1 cm shorter reach, is a bit negated by the bigger drop.

Cannot post photo yet, because new here on the forum.
Old 01-02-21, 03:16 PM
GlennR
On Your Left

Bikes: Trek Emonda SLR, Sram eTap, Zipp 303

Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Quoted: 3004 Post(s)
Liked 2,433 Times in 1,187 Posts
You can always buy a cheap stem and see it it rides.

$18
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Aluminium-C...sAAOSw7pldQYno
Old 01-02-21, 03:33 PM
weeniecyclist

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I haven't taken that bike out for ride, just static mounting onto it and trying out positions and getting a feel for it.