Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Early Brifter Bikes - 7,8, and 9 Speed
Reload this Page >

Newbie Thoughts on Early Brifter Bikes!

Search
Notices
Early Brifter Bikes - 7,8, and 9 Speed Not vintage, not new, but still loved!

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-21, 07:27 PM
Jacob_R_59 

Bikes: 2000 Serotta Hors Categorie, 1990s Lennard Zinn, 1985 Guerciotti Jet, 1975 Peugeot PX-10,

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked 118 Times in 30 Posts

I’m brand new to Bike Forums and I think I voted incorrectly to the Poll on this Subforum. I think a Subforum devoted to the early brifter bikes is a great idea.

I don’t have any particular thoughts about whether or not Ergopower levers are properly called brifters.

I have an 8 speed Sachs Ergopower gruppo and now that I have a set of Campagnolo’s current cables & housing the shifters work great. Both shifters had a tendency to freeze & lockup and this stopped with the new cables.
Likes For Jacob_R_59:
Old 06-07-21, 07:56 PM
Kimmo 
bike whisperer

Bikes: https://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=152015&p=1404231

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 1523 Post(s)
Liked 716 Times in 508 Posts
Originally Posted by Jacob_R_59
Sachs Ergopower
That's some pretty rare gear around my way, only come across it once.

And it was on a rather interesting bike - dude was rocking a weird Suntour RD with it that didn't use a housing loop, the bare cable just came straight from the cable guide, onto a pulley/cam bit on the RD (kinda like SRAM), and he reckoned the indexing was spot on. Couldn't find that RD on Disraeli Gears, either.

Anyone know anything about the cable pull on these? I seem to recall it was different to the Campy ones.
Old 06-07-21, 11:18 PM
machinist42
mycocyclist