Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

Any carbon framebuilders around?

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-23, 05:09 AM
kooby

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 18 Times in 11 Posts

I'm an am amateur to framebuilding (but learning fast!), currently riding my first carbon frame, building my second, and designing my third.
I'm wondering if there are any other, more experienced carbon frame builders on this forum willing to share some information and experience. I'm especially curious about preferences when it comes to bottom brackets, dropouts, and bottle bosses, as well as monocoque vs bonded tube constructions.
Old 01-04-23, 08:14 AM
unterhausen
Randomhead

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 3,696 Times in 2,517 Posts
I don't think we have anyone that posts here regularly that works with carbon. I always wanted to build carbon frames. I even took a class on composite materials back in 1981. That was a mistake, the professor talked me out of building frames.
Old 01-04-23, 08:50 AM
Andrew R Stewart 

Bikes: Stewart S&S coupled sport tourer, Stewart Sunday light, Stewart Commuting, Stewart Touring, Co Motion Tandem, Stewart 3-Spd, Stewart Track, Fuji Finest, Mongoose Tomac ATB, GT Bravado ATB, JCP Folder, Stewart 650B ATB

Quoted: 4202 Post(s)
Liked 3,861 Times in 2,309 Posts
Over on Velocipede Salon there's a few that do. Or there's a few who in the past have posted. None that I remember ever talked about teaching though. Andy
Old 01-05-23, 07:52 AM
Canaboo

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts
What are you building your first with? Tube to tube carbon is not rocket science. Neither is monocoque if you are using a foam core.