Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Question for bike shop employees

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-21, 06:07 AM
Tandem Tom

Bikes: 1992 Serotta Colorado II,Co-Motion Speedster, Giant Escape Hybrid, 1977 Schwinn Super Le Tour

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked 112 Times in 85 Posts

For those of you who work either full or or in a shop what type of discount do you get?
Old 06-10-21, 06:35 AM
ClydeClydeson

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked 921 Times in 518 Posts
Years since I worked in a shop, but the most common scheme was cost + 10%. Depends on the item but this usually worked out to a ~30-40% discount.
Likes For ClydeClydeson:
Old 06-10-21, 07:11 AM
RGMN

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked 232 Times in 153 Posts
Last shop I worked at the discount on parts/accessories/clothing was cost + 10%. Complete bikes were only available pro-form. The nice part is the shop still extends me the cost + 10% on any special order parts & accessories even thought I haven't worked there in 5+ years.

Edit: I forgot to include this: I was a mechanic at the last shop. All tools were at cost. Occasionally the owner would give us the tools.

Last edited by RGMN; 06-10-21 at 07:16 AM.
Old 06-10-21, 08:47 AM
Andrew R Stewart 

Bikes: Stewart S&S coupled sport tourer, Stewart Sunday light, Stewart Commuting, Stewart Touring, Co Motion Tandem, Stewart 3-Spd, Stewart Track, Fuji Finest, Mongoose Tomac ATB, GT Bravado ATB, JCP Folder, Stewart 650B ATB

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 4201 Post(s)
Liked 3,857 Times in 2,305 Posts