Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Bike For Distance

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Bike For Distance

Old 05-15-23, 04:59 AM
spinconn

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked 38 Times in 23 Posts
Bike For Distance

For those who have both racing bikes and endurance/gravel bikes with more relaxed geometry, I would like to ask, at what distances do you prefer one over the other?
Old 05-15-23, 06:16 AM
Troul 

Bikes: RSO E-tire dropper fixie brifter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 2,910 Times in 1,884 Posts
i am not a pro racer, & don't intend to be one ever. Doing an all out pedal mash on some sketchy surface conditions, 20 miles seemed to be where I would cap out on a road bicycle. With a more relaxed setup, I probably could go a bit farther, but at the cost of speed & time.
Old 05-15-23, 06:31 AM
RB1-luvr
I don't know.

Bikes: '90 B'stone RB-1, '92 B'stone RB-2, '89 SuperGo Access Comp, '03 Access 69er, '23 Trek 520, '14 Ritchey Road Logic, '09 Kestrel Evoke, '08 Windsor Tourist, '17 Surly Wednesday, '89 Centurion Accordo, '15 CruX, '17 Ridley X-Night

Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked 823 Times in 430 Posts
I'm 59, and would ride my touring bike for 75-100 miles, and a training/race road bike for anything less than 75.
Old 05-15-23, 06:44 AM
eduskator

Bikes: SL8 Pro, TCR beater

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 957 Post(s)
Liked 562 Times in 423 Posts