Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > "The 33"-Road Bike Racing
Reload this Page >

Real Worried About Decline in Performance

Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Old 03-16-11, 10:33 AM
VT Biker

Bikes: Cannondale R700 (2005)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I recently experienced something that I am a bit worried about, as I am new to targeted training with power.

So some quick background:
Prior to last week, due to work, I was training for the previous three weeks about 5 hours per week, mostly in 1 hours interval sessions or hard lunch time rides which mimic interval efforts. Each Tuesday, when taking my power class, my power numbers were consistent and improving.
I then needed to take about 5 days straight off from the bike, and then starting last Wednesday, had the following ride schedule:

A) Wednesday: a real fast and hard lunch time ride with our two fastest riders at work. Felt strong
B) Thursday Evening – make-up power meter class. Felt fine, and power numbers were consistent.
C) Friday: climbed Flagstaff mountain and then a leisurely ride around Boulder afterwards.
D) Saturday – legs felt tired, but rode the Wadsworth Worlds down near Littleton, CO and then climbed Deer Creek to Evergreen with my club. I ended up bonking ½ way up (or at least my legs completely gave out). Rode the remaining 35 miles, but really had little to no power. Fine, has happened in the past, and I never gave much thought to it except I was tired. I never really measured the impact of this in the past, but never really noticed bonking on a ride as impacting my performance in the past either.