Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Need help w HR and PWR zones

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-21, 03:12 PM
mick.ribault

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Spinning my wheels… my pwr and HR zones don’t make sense.

I’ve been doing a base training program for two months using training peaks. Requires many workouts in Z2. When I’m on the trainer I have a power meter. Based on my most recent FTP of 241, my Z2 is 135-182. When I set my my trainer to erg mode of 170watts, my HR hovers around 130 bpm plus or minus 5.

Now when I did my FTP test my Threshold HR was at 179… so when I set this up as my Threshold HR, my Z2 Heart Rate is supposed to be 145-157… a whole 15 bpm higher than what happens on my trainer at my PWR z2. Now, when I hit the road or trails with just my heart rate monitor, I have zero idea what zone I truly operating in.

Any advice? What am I missing here.

Thanks in advance!
Old 05-04-21, 10:09 PM
guachi

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked 327 Times in 179 Posts
My threshold HR is about 175. When I do 70% of FTP my HR is about 135.

From my sample of one you aren't doing anything wrong.
Likes For guachi:
Old 05-04-21, 10:24 PM
Carbonfiberboy 
just another gosling

Bikes: CoMo Speedster 2003, Trek 5200, CAAD 9, Fred 2004

Mentioned: 115 Post(s)
Quoted: 3887 Post(s)
Liked 1,938 Times in 1,383 Posts
Standard zones apply to standard people?? Everyone's a little different. An easier way to think about it is oxygen consumption. IOW, how fast are you breathing? Here are a couple of my recent posts on that subject:
https://www.bikeforums.net/22027364-post22.html
https://www.bikeforums.net/22020995-post6.html