Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Using Keo Cleats on on a CX/Gravel bike

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-20, 11:17 AM
Cowboy905
total Newbie

Bikes: 2009 Look 566 Ultegra

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 7 Posts

I just too my friends CX Bike off his hands (perfect condition Kona Jake) as I want to start doing some light gravel / trails. Nothing serious, but i need to change the pedals (they're platform) and bar tape.

Does anybody see anything wrong with throwing some Look Keo Classic pedals on there so I can use my Road shoe on this bike? it would save me money rather than getting SPD pedals and having to buy some SPD shoes. The only disadvantage I can think of is I can't buy a mountain bike style shoe.

Does anybody do this or do you keep them separate?
Old 08-21-20, 12:30 PM
mattcalifornia

Bikes: 2002 Eddy Merckx Team SC Resto-Mod; 2019 Ibis Hakka MX; 2017 Spot Brand Ajax Belt Drive

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked 192 Times in 121 Posts
It's probably fine if you're only going to ride on relatively flat, hard-packed dirt roads. I wouldn't want to be wearing road bike shoes on a single track trail, steep road or loose gravel or sand. The issue isn't while you're riding. The issue is if you have to get off the bike. You might slip. You'll definitely ruin your shoes and cleats pretty quickly. Get a pair of cheap SPD pedals and shoes.
Likes For mattcalifornia:
Old 08-21-20, 01:21 PM
Cowboy905
total Newbie

Bikes: 2009 Look 566 Ultegra

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)