Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Bottom Bracket issue

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Bottom Bracket issue

Old 11-11-20, 09:37 AM
Adam187

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bottom Bracket issue

Hello,

I'm new to bike forums and hoping someone can help me with a current build.

My single speed bike has a 103mm square tapered bb for which I bought a set of Miche primato cranks. What I soon realised is that there are two types of taper and miche require ISO kind and I believe a 107mm bottom bracket .

What I'm asking is can I replace a 103mm bb with 107mm or would that push my chainline too far? Is it possible to buy a 103mm iso type taper ? And will that fit the miche crankset.

I appreciate any help with this and please understand I'm no expert in bikes but have always worked on them and was really enjoying this particular build up until this bump..

Many thanks
Old 11-11-20, 01:28 PM
Jicafold

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked 129 Times in 89 Posts
Originally Posted by Adam187
What I'm asking is can I replace a 103mm bb with 107mm or would that push my chainline too far?
This would probably not push the chain line out too far. That’s only 2 mm on each side. And depending on what kind of fixie cog or single speed freewheel you are running you could always put a spacer in there to keep the chain line straight.
Old 11-11-20, 09:42 PM
veganbikes
Clark W. Griswold

Bikes: Foundry Chilkoot Ti W/Ultegra Di2, Salsa Timberjack Ti, Cinelli Mash Work RandoCross Fun Time Machine, 1x9 XT Parts Hybrid, Co-Motion Cascadia, Specialized Langster, Phil Wood Apple VeloXS Frame (w/DA 7400), R+M Supercharger2 Rohloff, Habanero Ti 26

Mentioned: 54 Post(s)