Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Help me pick a new bike

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Help me pick a new bike

Old 11-15-20, 09:19 AM
RickH

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help me pick a new bike

Hi All,

I am 53-years old, 5’7” 150 pounds. I have been riding for just a few years, but I have really gotten into it. I have a 7-speed beach cruiser (Sun Baja Cruz) with 3.5” tires. I mostly enjoy trail riding (maybe 80% trails, 20% pavement). I have had some tendonitis problems in the past (prior to bike riding) and am an avid jazz guitarist, so I don’t want to mess with a mountain bike position (my son has a Cannondale Cujo which I wouldn’t want to ride for more than 10 minutes). Although my bike has been fine and I have been doing up to 25 mile off road trips with it, I am looking to upgrade to something with disc brakes, a little lighter, etc. I would like something that could perhaps handle relatively rugged terrain if needed, but I don’t plan on doing any single track stuff. Is there such a thing? I really need a more upright position - that's critical to me. Is there something like a comfort bike that can handle more aggressive terrain if needed? I checked out a Surly Troll yesterday, but it still had too much of a forward leaning position for me. The shop said they could work with me on the rise and handlebars to get me to a more comfortable position. Any thoughts on what direction I should go in? Thanks!
Old 11-15-20, 09:34 AM
Moisture
Drip, Drip.

Bikes: Trek Verve E bike, Felt Doctrine 4 XC, Opus Horizon Apex 1

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked 193 Times in 163 Posts