Notices
Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum From spin to Zwift to Peloton, this forum is dedicated to any and all indoor training on stationary bikes

recreating my rides

Old 11-07-21, 10:16 AM
  #1  
psuchuck
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
recreating my rides

Hi all, I'm looking for some help.

I acquired a new wahoo kickr that I'm excited to use this winter. I'm not really interested in zwift of others. I just want to rerun my rides that I have saved on Strava. If anyone is doing that, can you please let me know how to do it? I really appreciate it.

Thanks,

Chuck
psuchuck is offline  
Old 11-07-21, 11:02 AM
  #2  
Bald Paul
Senior Member
 
Bald Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked 932 Times in 431 Posts
As far as I know, you can record your indoor rides TO Strava ( How to Record an Indoor Cycling Ride with Strava (indoorcyclingtips.com) ) but there is no way to transmit your rides FROM Strava to a smart trainer.
Bald Paul is online now  
Old 11-07-21, 11:51 AM
  #3  
texbiker
Senior Member
 
texbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kingwood, TX
Posts: 1,003

Bikes: Cervelo Caledonia Rival AXS eTap, Blue Norcross AL, Lynskey Helix

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked 76 Times in 63 Posts
I've done this on Rouvy. Upload the gps file but unless you upload video of the route you will only see your progress on the map.
texbiker is offline  
Old 11-07-21, 12:17 PM
  #4  
OldRailfan
Old enough, hmmm?
 
OldRailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Coldstream, BC Canada
Posts: 287

Bikes: DeVinci, Bianchi, Nishiki, RBSM Mud Adder

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked 112 Times in 82 Posts
In retrospect (20-20); an action cam would have been very handy to record all those rides, or at least a few of the epic ones. Depending on location and weather you could still do that.
OldRailfan is offline  
Old 11-07-21, 12:22 PM
  #5  
OldRailfan
Old enough, hmmm?
 
OldRailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Coldstream, BC Canada
Posts: 287

Bikes: DeVinci, Bianchi, Nishiki, RBSM Mud Adder

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked 112 Times in 82 Posts
And then there are these

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVb...SCqGDs6-_awaDg


I really like all that Euro stuff without suffering the jet lag and the expense. There are even some that I cycled way back in the 50s and 60s.
OldRailfan is offline  
Old 11-07-21, 04:38 PM
  #6  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 1,568

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked 790 Times in 465 Posts
here is a free solution. quite boring but does the trick...

https://www.bikeforums.net/indoor-st...plication.html
spelger is offline  
Old 11-07-21, 04:48 PM
  #7  
PeteHski
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 3,580
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1705 Post(s)
Liked 1,834 Times in 1,166 Posts
BKool allows you to upload gps routes which you can then re-ride on your trainer. I haven't used it in the last year, but it was a bit hit and miss when I tried it. The gradient transitions are sometimes pretty dubious.
PeteHski is offline  
Old 11-27-21, 03:14 AM
  #8  
grosey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Mayo, Ireland
Posts: 13

Bikes: Planet X EC130

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
In RGT you can upload GPS files as 'Magic Roads'. (premium version). It will then create a virtual road for you to ride and track the route/gradient of the GPS file.

One thing you need is good GPS data, as I've experienced cycling on 0% gradient then in an instant it's 25% and the trainer locks up!

To avoid this you need to smooth the GPS file to take out any bad data This can be done with gpx smoother and gpx magic.
grosey is offline  
Old 11-27-21, 09:44 AM
  #9  
genejockey 
Klaatu..Verata..Necktie?
 
genejockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 11,803

Bikes: Litespeed Ultimate, Ultegra; Canyon Endurace, 105; Battaglin MAX, Chorus; Bianchi 928 Veloce; Ritchey Road Logic, Dura Ace; Cannondale R500 RX100; Schwinn Circuit, Sante; Lotus Supreme, Dura Ace

Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6533 Post(s)
Liked 6,873 Times in 3,519 Posts
Originally Posted by grosey View Post
In RGT you can upload GPS files as 'Magic Roads'. (premium version). It will then create a virtual road for you to ride and track the route/gradient of the GPS file.

One thing you need is good GPS data, as I've experienced cycling on 0% gradient then in an instant it's 25% and the trainer locks up!

To avoid this you need to smooth the GPS file to take out any bad data This can be done with gpx smoother and gpx magic.
I wonder if you'd get better data by plotting a route on Strava using the 'follow roads' setting. I've had Strava (or Garmin, or whoever) miss roads I was riding on, which no doubt screwed up the elevation profile.
__________________
"Don't take life so serious-it ain't nohow permanent."

"Everybody's gotta be somewhere." - Eccles
genejockey is offline  
Old 11-27-21, 10:59 AM
  #10  
Jose R
downtube shifter
 
Jose R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 573

Bikes: Custom DeanUSA El Diente CTI, Rich Adams Track, Johnny Coast Fixed, Argon18 Gallium Pro

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I use the Garmin Tacx software app with my smart trainer, and I have imported saved GPS files (.gpx or .tcx). I have manually created routes in Strava, downloaded the .gpx file, and imported the file into the Tacx software. I then ride the route in GPS mode.
Jose R is offline  
Old 12-23-21, 12:50 PM
  #11  
Redbullet
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked 26 Times in 21 Posts
Originally Posted by psuchuck View Post
Hi all, I'm looking for some help.

I acquired a new wahoo kickr that I'm excited to use this winter. I'm not really interested in zwift of others. I just want to rerun my rides that I have saved on Strava. If anyone is doing that, can you please let me know how to do it? I really appreciate it.

Thanks,

Chuck
Yes, sure, there is at least one cycling application where you can upload your GPX files from your Strava rides or from other sources (with some modifications in order to smooth the rough GPS file; they also have an app that does that with a single click of a button). The scenery is standard generated by application, but road shape and gradients are very close to the real ones.
But wouldn't be masked marketing to post the names of the applications here?...
Redbullet is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.