Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Older MTB Looking for Newer Chainring Guard Solution

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Old 05-24-22, 08:22 PM
Entropy_S

Bikes: Diamondback Response DB78

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 4 Posts

Let me preface this by saying that I’m a complete newbie when it comes to bikes in general, and feel dumb asking the following question.

So, I have an old Diamondback mountain bike that I purchased back in 2007. This bike has three gears in the front, and I want to install a chain ring guard to protect the gears. The largest gear has 42-teeth with a BCD of ~135mm; can anyone help me select the appropriate guard for my use case?

I’ve attached a photo of the front gears of my bike for reference, areas marked in Green.

Old 05-24-22, 08:52 PM
Rolla

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 1346 Post(s)
Liked 3,269 Times in 1,439 Posts
I'm not sure those are bolt holes, and 135mm isn't a 4-bolt BCD standard that I know of.

https://www.wolftoothcomponents.com/...e-diameter-bcd
Likes For Rolla:
Old 05-25-22, 07:40 AM
Entropy_S

Liked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by Rolla
I'm not sure those are bolt holes, and 135mm isn't a 4-bolt BCD standard that I know of.
I can't see any other holes other than the ones marked in Green; the holes are countersunk which leads me to believe that they could be used for something, if not a chainring guard?
Old 05-25-22, 07:58 AM
Crankycrank

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Quoted: 835 Post(s)
Liked 1,053 Times in 739 Posts