Search
Notices
Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum From spin to Zwift to Peloton, this forum is dedicated to any and all indoor training on stationary bikes

Is my bike compatible?

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-22, 04:44 PM
LearningToCycle

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is my bike compatible?

I'm new to cycling this year and have obtained an old bike, which has been suitable for my slow rides throughout summer.
I would like to continue riding throughout winter but due to the weather, an indoor trainer looks the best option.

However, I don't know enough about the set ups to confirm if my bike will be compatible or not?
There are too many components and numbers for me to get my head around.

I am on an old Hybrid bike and from google, the specs are showing;

Frame

frame material Steel frame description Hybrid frame

Braking

brake caliper front Tektro Alloy V-Brake brake caliper rear Tektro Alloy V-Brake brake type V-Brakes

Drive

crank 24/34/42T pedals Resin Platform

Gearing

derailleur rear Shimano RD-TZ50 gears 18 shifter(s) Sram MRX-170

General

headset 1-1/8"x25.4x34x30xH:37.5mm rigid forks Rigid 700cx 1-1/8 inch saddle Black vinyl covered soft foam seat post Steel 350x25.1mmx1.6t safety line 80mm stem 4x150mmx2.5txEXT:90mm Barbore 25.4mm weight 15kg

Wheels

hubs Front: 3/8x36hx100x140mm Rear:3/8x36hx130x175mm rims Aluminium rims tyre size 700c x 38C tyres (front & back) Hybrid Tyres wheel size 700c

When looking at indoor trainers, it keeps talking about cassettes and quick release or thru axels.

From what I've found online, I will need a new cassette as mine isn't an 11?... however I'm not sure if it is as easy as just buying a new cassette or if I would have to change other components as well?

I don't have a quick release but I can't figure out if I have a thru axle that is compatible / what size I have?
From Google, I just keep getting images of axels with a lever on, which mine doesn't have?