Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

Help deciding crankshaft setup

Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Old 09-17-21, 08:49 PM
lancelegstrong

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

Need some advice as I am fairly new to this,

So basically i am getting a lot of clunking/clicking that seems to be coming from my crankshaft area, i've taken a look and discovered that my (FSA) chainring doesn't attach properly to my (dura-ace 7400?) crankset, all of the bolts are fully tightened all the way but here is still play in 4 out of the 5 of them.

Im guessing this would be the main culprit for the noises coming from that area but i have a sneaking suspicion there might be some bearing wear as well because it seems like i can feel some clunking coming from my left pedal too not just the crankset side (hard to say for sure though, only going by feel)

Luckily, either way i already want to upgrade my chainring to a 44T size (the fsa is 42T currently) so i was looking at finding a duraace chainring to match and then hopefully getting a better fit with the bolts to secure and clicking coming from there.

Looking at durace chainrings, unfortunately seems like the cheapest i could get one shipped to Australia for is around $90-$100 AUD, then i would mostly likely need new bolts ($25 AUD) and chainring bolt tool ($10AUD) to get the job done, then if i'm still getting clicking i will have to take a look at the bottom bracket and possibly do work on that, i'm not sure what the bottom bracket is but i don't think its anything good so might just replace bearings or might do a whole upgrade?