Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

2nd Wheelset help

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-21, 09:07 PM
Newbie_Canuck

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
2nd Wheelset help

Hey everyone, i'm kind of new to the drop bar scene. I bought a Kona Rove last year which has 650B x 47 tires and I really love commuting 10k to work on mixed terrain on this bike. On the weekends however I find myself riding with my more efficient road focused friends on some bigger rides.. 50 - 60kms. I'm considering setting up a second set of wheels for this purpose. My frame and fork would accommodate a 700 x XX wheel and think i've found a wheelset that has compatible hub widths and center locking disk brakes. I have 2 questions. 1. Do I need to use the same cassette as i have to avoid derailleur adjustments on wheel swap? 2. Am I missing anything that would make the wheelset not fit my bike? Again I have a 2021 Rove with the Steel frame 650b option. Shifters are Sora. Maybe this is the wrong approach? Maybe i should just get a good used road bike? I just really love riding my Rove and would like to just change wheels as needed. Any advice would be great.

Thanks!

Last edited by Newbie_Canuck; 09-15-21 at 09:14 PM.
Old 09-16-21, 02:38 AM
Badger6
Obsessed with Eddington

Bikes: '16 Spesh Diverge, '14 Spesh Fatboy, '18 Spesh Epic, '18 Spesh SL6, '21 Spesh SL7, '21 Spesh Diverge...and maybe n+1?

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 532 Post(s)
Liked 621 Times in 368 Posts
Originally Posted by Newbie_Canuck
1. Do I need to use the same cassette as I have to avoid derailleur adjustments on wheel swap?