Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Getting power meter data into Strava - how are you doing it?

Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Getting power meter data into Strava - how are you doing it?

Old 09-19-21, 09:22 AM
  #1  
blacknbluebikes 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
blacknbluebikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 925

Bikes: two blacks, a blue and a white.

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked 487 Times in 241 Posts
Getting power meter data into Strava - how are you doing it?

This question concerns getting outdoor ride power meter data into my Strava activities.
Strava, for better or worse, has become my "consolidated" source of all my stats. I get my Zwift power meter data for inside rides, all good. But now I'm outside with a new power meter pedal (garmin rally) and I'd like to add that data, too. Strava isn't giving an estimate on when it will be able to process the pedal/bluetooth feed, so I think I'm left to find some kind of cross-load from, ah, well... not obvious what I can do, from where, and whether this will create "duplicate ride records" on the Strava side. How are you solving this consolidation question? Thanks.
blacknbluebikes is offline  
Old 09-19-21, 09:40 AM
  #2  
surak
Senior Member
 
surak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,699

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix, Canyon Inflite AL SLX, Priority Continuum Onyx, Santana Vision, Kent Dual-Drive Tandem

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked 590 Times in 341 Posts
I assume from your question that you are recording your rides using Strava. Strava is probably the crappiest recording app for cycling, especially after they removed all sensor pairing. There are third-party smartphone apps that'll work like the Wahoo Fitness app, which is free and can upload activities to Strava.
surak is offline  
Likes For surak:
Old 09-19-21, 10:08 AM
  #3  
caloso
Senior Member
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 40,664

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Canyon Exceed, Specialized Transition, Ellsworth Roots, Ridley Excalibur

Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2862 Post(s)
Liked 2,840 Times in 1,307 Posts
I just save my ride on my Garmin and it uploads the ride to Strava, power included. Are you just running Strava on your phone without a computer? I don’t think it reads power by itself.
caloso is online now  
Likes For caloso:
Old 09-19-21, 10:27 AM
  #4  
himespau 
Senior Member
 
himespau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 12,515
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3124 Post(s)
Liked 1,795 Times in 1,046 Posts
Is there a garmin app that could do that, or are they too afraid that would take away business from their cycling computers?
himespau is online now  
Old 09-19-21, 10:54 AM
  #5  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 22,630
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16969 Post(s)
Liked 8,899 Times in 4,979 Posts
I record my rides using a Garmin watch. The data just has my power output in it. Sounds like you're using Strava to capture and record the data. I think most cyclists who use Strava as a data repository use something else (app or device) to get the data, and then they send it to Strava.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 09-19-21, 06:10 PM
  #6  
tempocyclist
Senior Member
 
tempocyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 369

Bikes: 2002 Trek 5200 (US POSTAL), 2020 Canyon Aeroad SL

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 274 Times in 139 Posts
Basically the only way to do that is to buy a Garmin or Wahoo head unit and stop using your phone to record rides.
tempocyclist is offline  
Old 09-20-21, 07:04 AM
  #7  
burnthesheep
Newbie racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3,186

Bikes: Propel, red is faster

Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1456 Post(s)
Liked 1,405 Times in 876 Posts
Originally Posted by blacknbluebikes View Post
This question concerns getting outdoor ride power meter data into my Strava activities.
Strava, for better or worse, has become my "consolidated" source of all my stats. I get my Zwift power meter data for inside rides, all good. But now I'm outside with a new power meter pedal (garmin rally) and I'd like to add that data, too. Strava isn't giving an estimate on when it will be able to process the pedal/bluetooth feed, so I think I'm left to find some kind of cross-load from, ah, well... not obvious what I can do, from where, and whether this will create "duplicate ride records" on the Strava side. How are you solving this consolidation question? Thanks.
The wahoo fitness app adds in power meters and hrm and such. Strava app does not.

I did that for a day or so waiting for a warranty return on my Bolt gps.
burnthesheep is offline  
Old 09-20-21, 10:08 AM
  #8  
blacknbluebikes 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
blacknbluebikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 925

Bikes: two blacks, a blue and a white.

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked 487 Times in 241 Posts
Thanks, some useful stuff there.
blacknbluebikes is offline  
Old 09-20-21, 10:16 AM
  #9  
blacknbluebikes 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
blacknbluebikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 925

Bikes: two blacks, a blue and a white.

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked 487 Times in 241 Posts
Looks like Strava can be a consolidation point and skip the mobile recording. Only downside I'm seeing now is that if I link G Connect, it's going to crossload 90 days of history. ugh. delete-a-thon? hmmm.
blacknbluebikes is offline  
Old 09-20-21, 01:10 PM
  #10  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 22,630
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16969 Post(s)
Liked 8,899 Times in 4,979 Posts
That just means you had a really good summer. 🙂
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 09-20-21, 04:22 PM
  #11  
PeteHski
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1492 Post(s)
Liked 1,580 Times in 1,018 Posts
I use a Garmin Edge bike computer to record all my ride data. Then it just uploads automatically to Strava. I never use Strava itself on my phone to record rides.
PeteHski is offline  
Likes For PeteHski:
Old 09-21-21, 01:56 AM
  #12  
mikeymichaels
Bonking Enthusiast
 
mikeymichaels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Los Angeles / Orange County
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 32 Times in 12 Posts
Originally Posted by PeteHski View Post
I use a Garmin Edge bike computer to record all my ride data. Then it just uploads automatically to Strava. I never use Strava itself on my phone to record rides.
Same here
mikeymichaels is offline  
Old 09-23-21, 12:27 AM
  #13  
Branko D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked 324 Times in 192 Posts
I have a Polar head unit and I watch which syncs to Strava via Polar Flow, same thing with Garmin users and the like. I think Strava can now pair with Bluetooth sensors again at least premium if not the free version, but a phone just isn't a very good bike computer.
​​​​​
Branko D is offline  
Old 09-24-21, 07:44 AM
  #14  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 1,397

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked 678 Times in 399 Posts
Originally Posted by tempocyclist View Post
Basically the only way to do that is to buy a Garmin or Wahoo head unit and stop using your phone to record rides.
that is an absurd assertion. i use a smart phone for recording rides and it pairs with sensors and all gets uploaded to strava automagically. CycleMeter, 11$/yr, there are others out there too.
spelger is offline  
Old 09-24-21, 10:53 AM
  #15  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 22,630
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16969 Post(s)
Liked 8,899 Times in 4,979 Posts
Another option is to assume the reason the data isn't coming through is because you're off the charts good. This method doesn't get you fancy graphs or anything, but you can tell people your FTP is 900w, so it's a trade-off.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 09-24-21, 04:08 PM
  #16  
tempocyclist
Senior Member
 
tempocyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 369

Bikes: 2002 Trek 5200 (US POSTAL), 2020 Canyon Aeroad SL

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 274 Times in 139 Posts
Originally Posted by spelger View Post
that is an absurd assertion. i use a smart phone for recording rides and it pairs with sensors and all gets uploaded to strava automagically. CycleMeter, 11$/yr, there are others out there too.

Interesting! I'd never seen that app before, thanks for the info! I just spent ages trawling their website. Always learning.

So you run this app on your phone, rather than recording the ride via Strava itself?

Their website says it's "free" but offers in-app purchases. Can you access most of the features via the free version or do you have to pay at some point?

Does having your powermeter connected to your phone negatively impact battery life much?


Last edited by tempocyclist; 09-24-21 at 04:14 PM. Reason: spelling fail
tempocyclist is offline  
Old 09-25-21, 06:23 PM
  #17  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 1,397

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked 678 Times in 399 Posts
Originally Posted by tempocyclist View Post
Interesting! I'd never seen that app before, thanks for the info! I just spent ages trawling their website. Always learning.

So you run this app on your phone, rather than recording the ride via Strava itself?

Their website says it's "free" but offers in-app purchases. Can you access most of the features via the free version or do you have to pay at some point?

Does having your powermeter connected to your phone negatively impact battery life much?
i don't remember if i like their website or not. i will say that they have some very good tech support. for example, when i started as a paying customer i was on an iphone but later switched to a samsung, this was around memorial day. when the year ended and it being a subscription i was automatically billed as expected but it somehow remained with my iphone that i was no longer using. this happened on memorial day weekend. a few emails on saturday and sunday and they had me up and running again on my samsung, they were awesome in this respect.

in any case, i waited to respond because although i know it does not use much in the way of battery i just could not recall exactly so i completed a long ride (for me) and the results are in the image below. i don't monitor while i ride, the phone is in my jersey pocket. if i did monitor i am sure it would not last as long.

regarding the free version, that is what i used for a couple of years prior, it only recorded speed, distance, and location (but at the time that was all i cared about). this was supported via ads that at the time and they were very small at the top or bottom, can't recall. the paid version allows me to ride with sensors which is what i really wanted. i only have cadence and heart rate and both operate over bluetooth. a power meter would not consume much in the way of additional power since all sensors are transmitters and the phone only transmits during the pairing period. also i upload rides to strava as my repository. the app will track equipment but since i only have one bike i don't use that facility. there are other features that i just don't use but i suspect that is true of most of these apps or bike computers.

i do recall even when using the free version when i did have it mounted on my handle bars that i could watch my former self if i picked and rode a saved route. that was a pretty neat feature i thought, it allowed me to beat my former self or watch my present self crash and burn. it probably still has that feature but since it sin my pocket i dont really know for sure.

-scott


i cropped out the map but normally there is one visible.

spelger is offline  
Likes For spelger:
Old 01-18-22, 02:40 AM
  #18  
Sunwukong
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 15

Bikes: single speed frankencycle

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
New to sensors and still looking at power meters, but liking a phone based app, Cadence, for real time speed, cadence and heart rate data that posts to Strava, with options to add a power meter and lots of customization available
Sunwukong is offline  
Old 01-18-22, 03:29 PM
  #19  
OBoile
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1000 Post(s)
Liked 303 Times in 186 Posts
Originally Posted by tempocyclist View Post
Basically the only way to do that is to buy a Garmin or Wahoo head unit and stop using your phone to record rides.
There are some 3rd party phone apps that will do this too. But, IMO, a dedicated bike computer is much better than one's phone.
ETA: I guess I should have read the whole thread before replying. It's already been covered I see.

Last edited by OBoile; 01-18-22 at 03:34 PM.
OBoile is offline  
Old 01-19-22, 05:34 PM
  #20  
MinnMan
Senior Member
 
MinnMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 4,897

Bikes: 2020 Salsa Warbird GRX 600, 2020 Canyon Ultimate CF SLX disc 9.0 Di2, 2020 Catrike Eola, 2016 Masi cxgr, 2011, Felt F3 Ltd, 2010 Trek 2.1, 2009 KHS Flite 220

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3417 Post(s)
Liked 2,371 Times in 1,439 Posts
Once upon a time you could record your ride directly to the Strava phone app and your sensors (power meter, HRM) would pair. But for reasons I don't understand, they turned off that capability. Now, as people have said, you can do it with 3rd party apps.
MinnMan is offline  
Old 01-19-22, 05:54 PM
  #21  
Eric F
Habitual User
 
Eric F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 2,412

Bikes: 2018 Storck Fascenario.3 Platinum, 2003 Time VX Special Pro, 2001 Colnago VIP, 1999 Trek 9900 singlespeed, 1977 Nishiki ONP

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1409 Post(s)
Liked 2,207 Times in 1,083 Posts
Originally Posted by PeteHski View Post
I use a Garmin Edge bike computer to record all my ride data. Then it just uploads automatically to Strava. I never use Strava itself on my phone to record rides.
This ^^^ but a Wahoo Bolt. I move the Bolt between multiple bikes with no issues.
Eric F is offline  
Old 01-22-22, 05:16 PM
  #22  
ZHVelo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked 177 Times in 130 Posts
You need a dedicated cycling computer, or use an app on your phone that pairs with your power meter. The Wahoo Fitness app is actually quite good for this, at least it was when I last used it. I think recently I tried to use it while skiing and it didn't pair with my HR monitor anymore. So now I use my cycling computer while skiing, too. Funnily enough, I have a new pair of pants for that that just happens to have a single little inside pocket where my Wahoo just fits. But yea, try Wahoo app, the Strava app is known to be utter *****.
ZHVelo is offline  
Old 01-27-22, 08:23 AM
  #23  
scottfsmith
I like bike
 
scottfsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Merry Land USA
Posts: 431

Bikes: Roubaix Comp 2020

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked 188 Times in 122 Posts
Originally Posted by ZHVelo View Post
So now I use my cycling computer while skiing, too.
Good idea, I wanted data XC skiing last week and should have done that. I recently found out how to change the activity type in Strava (fairly trivial in Edit under the "...") so even though it will automatically upload as a bike ride it is easy to switch to a ski.

That CycleMeter phone app looks cool, I already bought a Bolt though.

Last edited by scottfsmith; 01-27-22 at 08:27 AM.
scottfsmith is offline  
Old 04-20-22, 04:02 PM
  #24  
OshkoshBiker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 68

Bikes: DB Haanjo Comp, Trek 1.2, Murray MTB, Framed Minnesota 2.0, Top Fuel 8

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Phone app that records any BluetoothSmart BLE Sensors

I am the developer of an app for Android smartphones which will collect the data from any BluetoothSmart or BLE Sensors. If you have a power meter and would like to help, I will set you up as a test rider and you can use it for free. In addition, my app will automatically send your ride data to Strava at the end of each ride. Set it up once and forget it like convenience. It sounds like you already have a power meter, but for those who do not, my app will also calculate a pretty good estimate of power and it does not have an averaging delays like other apps.

If you are interested please visit: cykelstrom.com

You can also message me here.

Kind regards,
Chuck
OshkoshBiker is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.