Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum
Reload this Page >

Getting started on Zwift

Notices
Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum From spin to Zwift to Peloton, this forum is dedicated to any and all indoor training on stationary bikes

Getting started on Zwift

Old 10-29-21, 05:55 PM
  #1  
bonsai171
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked 84 Times in 65 Posts
Getting started on Zwift

I would like to try out Zwift with my magnetic Blackburn trainer. Its not on the supported trainer list for Zwift, but it has a knob with detents so I can dial in the exact same resistance every time. I also have a wahoo speed sensor. Will Zwift work for me?

Dave
bonsai171 is offline  
Old 10-29-21, 07:39 PM
  #2  
billridesbikes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked 383 Times in 230 Posts
With a speed sensor you should be able to ride with Zwift's 'zPower'. The Zwift list says Blackburn Mag-1, Mag-3, and Mag-6 are all supported. What exact model do you have?
Otherwise I would set it up, tell the Zwift software you have a Blackburn Mag-1 (or closest model) and see if it works well enough for Zwift.
billridesbikes is offline  
Old 10-30-21, 10:19 AM
  #3  
ingo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 192

Bikes: Cervelo S3, Ridley Helium, Cannondale Topstone Carbon, Giant Trance

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked 48 Times in 21 Posts
The Zwift Insider has lots of useful information on the game including this article:

https://zwiftinsider.com/getting-sta...assic-trainer/
ingo is offline  
Old 10-30-21, 04:32 PM
  #4  
bonsai171
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked 84 Times in 65 Posts
Originally Posted by billridesbikes View Post
With a speed sensor you should be able to ride with Zwift's 'zPower'. The Zwift list says Blackburn Mag-1, Mag-3, and Mag-6 are all supported. What exact model do you have?
Otherwise I would set it up, tell the Zwift software you have a Blackburn Mag-1 (or closest model) and see if it works well enough for Zwift.
Its the Blackburn Trackstand. Not sure how it compares to the mag1, but it's worth a try.


​​​​​Dave
bonsai171 is offline  
Old 11-05-21, 05:49 PM
  #5  
PeteHski
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1493 Post(s)
Liked 1,588 Times in 1,021 Posts
Zwift will work. But your estimated power will probably be miles off.
PeteHski is offline  
Likes For PeteHski:
Old 11-05-21, 07:01 PM
  #6  
billridesbikes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked 383 Times in 230 Posts
Originally Posted by PeteHski View Post
Zwift will work. But your estimated power will probably be miles off.
I do concur, you'll probably be way off for power when you first set up.

Here is what I would do.
1) Go to Bike Calculator and enter the specifics for your weight and choose 'drops' because the Zwift guy always rides in the drops.
2) Adjust the power until you get about 30km/h, so for a 75kg rider and riding in the drops, 30km/h without a headwind and zero gradient at sea level is about 145watts.
3) Now in Zwift, start riding and try to ride at 30km/h in game, now look at the zPower, if it is ridiculously low increase your resistance until the zPower is the right about of watts (choose 3s average in the software so that it stays kind of steady) and you're going 30km/h. If the power is too much, well it will probably be very hard to pedal anyway, so decrease the resistance.

Note that this method is probably only good for speeds around 30km/h and on flat roads and will be off in other conditions, but that's probably the best you can do with your current set up.
billridesbikes is offline  
Likes For billridesbikes:
Old 11-06-21, 06:15 AM
  #7  
PeteHski
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1493 Post(s)
Liked 1,588 Times in 1,021 Posts
Originally Posted by billridesbikes View Post
I do concur, you'll probably be way off for power when you first set up.

Here is what I would do.
1) Go to Bike Calculator and enter the specifics for your weight and choose 'drops' because the Zwift guy always rides in the drops.
2) Adjust the power until you get about 30km/h, so for a 75kg rider and riding in the drops, 30km/h without a headwind and zero gradient at sea level is about 145watts.
3) Now in Zwift, start riding and try to ride at 30km/h in game, now look at the zPower, if it is ridiculously low increase your resistance until the zPower is the right about of watts (choose 3s average in the software so that it stays kind of steady) and you're going 30km/h. If the power is too much, well it will probably be very hard to pedal anyway, so decrease the resistance.

Note that this method is probably only good for speeds around 30km/h and on flat roads and will be off in other conditions, but that's probably the best you can do with your current set up.
Sounds like a good plan. You could even check it at a few different speeds and on a steady climb to see how it stacks up.
PeteHski is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.