Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum
Reload this Page >

Zwift Updated, like I have a choice.

Notices
Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum From spin to Zwift to Peloton, this forum is dedicated to any and all indoor training on stationary bikes

Zwift Updated, like I have a choice.

Old 12-16-21, 03:31 PM
  #1  
jlmonte
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jlmonte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Central Coast California
Posts: 137

Bikes: Colnago Brain, Master Bi-Titanio, Vitus 979, Specialized Roubaix, Salsa Marrakesh, and a couple of Treks

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked 38 Times in 25 Posts
Zwift Updated, like I have a choice.

I double click Zwift, and while launching an update is required. In reasonable time Iím login, setup, pick a Neokyo route and Alexa has Xmas music playing. 5 miles into the ride, Zwift stops responding. Irritated for all the right reasons, I go back to double clicking Zwift to restart the ride. As a Stoic, I rationalize itís a new feature for lazy riders like me to put in an extra 5 miles. 🚴🏾‍♂️
jlmonte is offline  
Old 12-16-21, 05:04 PM
  #2  
Warbird21
Senior Member
 
Warbird21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Maryland (Western)
Posts: 186

Bikes: Salsa Warbird

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked 91 Times in 58 Posts
They sent me an email today about the update and suggested I log in early, to allow for the update time, before a planned ride. I ignored it last night, but better get it done tonight.
Warbird21 is offline  
Old 12-16-21, 09:33 PM
  #3  
AdkMtnMonster
Airplanes, bikes, beer.
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Off the front
Posts: 763

Bikes: Road bikes, mountain bikes, a cx bike, a gravel bike…

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked 787 Times in 338 Posts
I've been having a few little irritating glitches with Zwift lately. Lots of freezes, drops, failure to save or upload to Strava. WiFi connection is fine, no problems there. I hope this update fixes whatever's been going on. I've logged Z rides daily since before Hallowe'en, and haven't had any problems til last week. Now it's nearly every day. None of my hardware or software changed. Fingers crossed...
AdkMtnMonster is offline  
Old 12-24-21, 09:20 PM
  #4  
Thomas15
I think I know nothing.
 
Thomas15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NE PA
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked 287 Times in 202 Posts
I have a dedicated laptop that I use for Zwift, a windows 7 OS. I have not been on my trainer for about 2 months and so when I jumped on a few days ago I had to do this massive upgrade. I also got a message I think from Zwift Insider but maybe from Zwift that the next upgrade will require Windows 10. I had been trying to avoid this upgrade not sure why though.

Anyway I found a free upgrade to windows 10 pro and jumped on my trainer, rode 2 hours and this was the first time in over a year that I didn't have at least one dropout. Hopefully that trend will continue.
Thomas15 is offline  
Likes For Thomas15:
Old 12-29-21, 06:14 AM
  #5  
jpescatore
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ashton, MD USA
Posts: 1,217

Bikes: Trek Domane SL6 Disc, Jamis Renegade

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked 260 Times in 190 Posts
I run Zwift on Apple TV and have it set to auto update the Zwift app - very rare for me to have to update before a ride, usually only after some kind of power outage.

I've been using Zwift for 5 years, across PC/iPad/ATV, Apple TV by far the best experience.

Almost all the drop outs I've experienced have been WiFi or Bluetooth issues, rarely Zwift software issues. With Trainer, HRM, and cadence sensor connected all works fine. If I add a Blue Tooth headphone to the mix, seems to be too much BT going on and I'll see drop outs.
jpescatore is offline  
Old 12-29-21, 03:27 PM
  #6  
PeteHski
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1493 Post(s)
Liked 1,586 Times in 1,020 Posts
Zwift is rock solid on my iMac, which is quite an old Model (Late 2013). Been running Zwift for 2 years and it has never dropped out even once. I get the occasional software update on start-up, but usually just takes a few seconds to patch. There was a bigger upgrade recently for the new world, but even that only took a few minutes.
PeteHski is offline  
Old 12-29-21, 08:10 PM
  #7  
tempocyclist
Senior Member
 
tempocyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 369

Bikes: 2002 Trek 5200 (US POSTAL), 2020 Canyon Aeroad SL

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 275 Times in 139 Posts
Originally Posted by PeteHski View Post
Zwift is rock solid on my iMac, which is quite an old Model (Late 2013). Been running Zwift for 2 years and it has never dropped out even once. I get the occasional software update on start-up, but usually just takes a few seconds to patch. There was a bigger upgrade recently for the new world, but even that only took a few minutes.

Same. I've ridden countless hours of Zwift on three different Windows 10 laptops, my iPad, and both an HD and 4K version Apple TV. Used both ANT+ and Bluetooth. Various smart trainers, HR straps and powermeters.

Never once had any issues at all.

(my first laptop did struggle with frame rates and processing rider positions, but that's a hardware issue not a Zwift issue)
tempocyclist is offline  
Old 12-31-21, 11:29 AM
  #8  
Thomas15
I think I know nothing.
 
Thomas15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NE PA
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked 287 Times in 202 Posts
3 more Zwift rides and still no drop-outs with Windows 10 I'm happy so far. It is very annoying in a group ride to have a drop out.
Thomas15 is offline  
Old 01-02-22, 03:12 AM
  #9  
jlmonte
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jlmonte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Central Coast California
Posts: 137

Bikes: Colnago Brain, Master Bi-Titanio, Vitus 979, Specialized Roubaix, Salsa Marrakesh, and a couple of Treks

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked 38 Times in 25 Posts
Originally Posted by tempocyclist View Post
Same. I've ridden countless hours of Zwift on three different Windows 10 laptops, my iPad, and both an HD and 4K version Apple TV. Used both ANT+ and Bluetooth. Various smart trainers, HR straps and powermeters.

Never once had any issues at all.

(my first laptop did struggle with frame rates and processing rider positions, but that's a hardware issue not a Zwift issue)
I think it was Neokyo related after seeing notes from the latest update. And, It could have been on my client side, since the laptop is an old wife hand-me-down running who knows what obsolete services. BTW, as a Superstitious Stoic, I tremble at any inference that past outcomes determine future performance 😬.
jlmonte is offline  
Old 01-02-22, 01:51 PM
  #10  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 1,398

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked 680 Times in 400 Posts
Originally Posted by jlmonte View Post
I think it was Neokyo related after seeing notes from the latest update. And, It could have been on my client side, since the laptop is an old wife hand-me-down running who knows what obsolete services. BTW, as a Superstitious Stoic, I tremble at any inference that past outcomes determine future performance 😬.
careful. I'm sure you ment to say "old laptop from my wonderful wife." Don't want you getting into trouble.
spelger is offline  
Old 01-03-22, 01:50 PM
  #11  
aspalmat
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Originally Posted by PeteHski View Post
Zwift is rock solid on my iMac, which is quite an old Model (Late 2013). Been running Zwift for 2 years and it has never dropped out even once. I get the occasional software update on start-up, but usually just takes a few seconds to patch. There was a bigger upgrade recently for the new world, but even that only took a few minutes.
Running Zwift on a older MacBook, a 2105 model, and it has been very stable. I used to to run Zwift on a Windows 10 laptop, and had the occasional random power drop-out with it. I was using Ant+ for my connection to my trainer. I don't recall having a power drop out since I've been running it on the Mac. That it using a blue tooth connection through the companion app. Same on the upgrades. I get the occasional upgrade message, and it seems it never takes more than 30 - 45 seconds to do the upgrade, and I'm of an riding after that.
aspalmat is offline  
Old 01-03-22, 04:39 PM
  #12  
sdmc530
Heft On Wheels
 
sdmc530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 3,124

Bikes: Specialized,Cannondale,Argon 18

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked 558 Times in 345 Posts
I run Zwift on my ipad, older version of an ipad but still updates fine. It has been a zero issue as far as working perfectly. However the ipad in game graphics are not as good as a PC or like set up. But for the trouble free always working set up I will keep with the ipad. Graphics are not bad just not as crisp as a pc. My buddy has a PC to a 4k tv and even for a "video game" its very noticeably better than my ipad. Still good enough for me on my 6th season.
sdmc530 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.