Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Struggling with cornering turns

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Old 03-14-21, 10:05 AM
Cassopher

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts

I started riding in 2015 and rode for about 2 years then started riding again last April during the pandemic. I mostly rode indoors on a trainer in 2020 but since January or so most of my rides have been outdoors and I did my second ever group ride since returning to cycling. I rode with a really strong group and we held almost a 22 average over 50+ miles. My problem with riding with this group is cornering, and to be frank I’m just not good at it at this point. Maybe it’s being stationary for so long, but I honestly was never really good at it. I always lose contact of the wheel of the guy in front of me because I am being overly cautious. I end up expending a lot of watts trying to make contact after the turn. Needless to say the guys behind me in the group didn’t seem too thrilled that they had to burn extra watts catching up to the pack either. I am a strong rider on straightaways and can pedal through and close gaps but I want to conserve my energy and tighten up my turns and not piss off anyone behind me. Any tips for a new group rider?? Should I hold off riding with the group until I get more confident in my turns? I appreciate any input you may share.
Old 03-14-21, 10:21 AM
Pratt

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked 498 Times in 295 Posts
Excellent question. Since it is Pi Day, perhaps you need to tighten up your radius.
Old 03-14-21, 10:23 AM
JayKay3000

Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked 78 Times in 50 Posts