Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Bike Computer upload basics newbie

Search
Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-22, 10:42 AM
Mark AC

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

I have never used a Power Meter before and have some basic questions about connectivity to a bike computer. If there is an online resource that answers these questions, I'd love a link. So far haven't found it online.

A decade ago I ran a few marathons, then plantar fasciitis. Always rode a bike, been doing more the last few years. I am not an elite, just a recreational guy. Never done a bike race, curious. I'm 55. I'd like to ride faster and farther, exploring power meter to train more effectively. I like numbers and stats, it helped with my marathon running years ago.

I have the Polar Vantage M HRM, has GPS built in, like it a lot. Currently using PolarFlow which automatically uploads to free Strava account.

Polar has bluetooth connectivity. If I get a Power Meter, apparently it can connect with Polar, but no real time numbers. Apparently a bike computer mounted on handlebars would give me real time numbers, easily seen. On power meters, some connections are bluetooth, some ANT+. Could use mobile phone (bluetooth only), but curious about a dedicated bike computer. I like the Polar Vantage M and will continue to use it, but would like to add compatible devices, such as power meter and head unit.

I am curious about Favero Assioma Uno for pedal based power meter, but open to others if compatible and quality.