Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Not one but Two mishaps on my first commute to work...

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-12, 07:10 AM
Darsh

Bikes: Specialized - Allez Sport Compact '12

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

My first post in the BF, though I've been reading and lurking in the forums for a couple of months. I'm a complete newbie at biking.

Got and entry level road bike and started biking in spring this year. ATM feel fairly confident on my bike and enjoying the rides. I'm able to do 30 mile rides on weekends and shorter rides on weekday evenings.

Yesterday was my first day commuting to work. It ~14 miles urban commute one way. The ride in to work was smooth and event free.

Started back from downtown Toronto in the evening rush hour traffic. On one of the intersections while turning left my front wheel got caught in the streetcar tracks and I went down hard. Fortunately no traffic behind me. Chain came off derailleurs. Fixed the chain and inspected everything.

No damage to bike or myself except a few scratches on leg.

Got up and carefully started to finish the turn and got caught in the tracks again. Went down again , though not as hard. Reached home alright after that.

So how do the regulars avoid this, other than taking a different route altogether?

BTW today's ride in to work was fine.

Cheers
Darsh
Old 07-06-12, 07:18 AM
Big Lebowski

Bikes: Trek 9th District, CAAD 10, Crux

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Congrats on the commute!

If I encounter any situation that makes me feel uneasy, I just dismount, walk and/or carry my bike, then hop back on and enjoy the rest of my ride.

Good luck!
Old 07-06-12, 07:24 AM
treebound 
aka: Mike J.