Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

A shortish history of modern American frame builders

Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Old 11-29-21, 10:30 AM
Doug Fattic 
framebuilder

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked 1,913 Times in 655 Posts

The general population of adult Americans did not ride bicycles until the bike boom of 1970. Before then they were for kids to get around until they finally got their driver’s license. I saw my 1st “ten speed” when I was a freshman in high school in the fall of 1961. One of my classmates rode one to school and I was amazed. I thought the best bicycles were 3 speed “English racers”. That is what bicycles with upright handlebars and a 3 speed internally geared hub were called back then. They certainly were sporty compared to the heavy single speed wide tired bike with a bike front basket usually associated with newspaper delivery that were the most common in the 1950’s.