Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Calorie Question

Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Calorie Question

Old 05-18-21, 01:49 PM
  #51  
OBoile
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 990 Post(s)
Liked 283 Times in 173 Posts
Originally Posted by nlel View Post
Iím on a calorie controlled diet and find I donít have the energy to do 30 minutes on the bike in one session anymore. So is doing 3x 10 minute rides the same as one 30 minute.
I don't know if the OP is still around, but there is something seriously wrong with your diet if it is the reason you can't do 30 minutes of exercise at a time.
OBoile is offline  
Old 05-18-21, 04:25 PM
  #52  
rubiksoval
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Music City, USA
Posts: 4,434

Bikes: bikes

Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2610 Post(s)
Liked 1,407 Times in 705 Posts
Originally Posted by Carbonfiberboy View Post
To get kJ, you have to upload to a website that'll calculate that for you..
No, you don't. You have to have a cycling computer that receives info from your power meter.

That's it. Tells you right on your screen.
rubiksoval is offline  
Likes For rubiksoval:
Old 05-18-21, 04:52 PM
  #53  
caloso
Senior Member
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 40,318

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Canyon Exceed, Specialized Transition, Ellsworth Roots, Ridley Excalibur

Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2719 Post(s)
Liked 2,428 Times in 1,126 Posts
I've got a super basic computer (Garmin 130) and you can have it show you total work (kj). It's listed under power in the menu. I imagine it's the same for all computers.
caloso is offline  
Old 05-18-21, 05:12 PM
  #54  
Carbonfiberboy 
just another gosling
 
Carbonfiberboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 17,650

Bikes: CoMo Speedster 2003, Trek 5200, CAAD 9, Fred 2004

Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3020 Post(s)
Liked 936 Times in 709 Posts
Originally Posted by rubiksoval View Post
No, you don't. You have to have a cycling computer that receives info from your power meter.

That's it. Tells you right on your screen.
Well, it would if I knew to page far enough down the Power selections for my Garmin screen! IOW it's another good day - I learned something new. It is odd that TrainingPeaks doesn't show the same kcal that I get for kJ when I highlight the whole ride on the Map and Graph screen. The kcal is always less than the kJ, usually between 60% and 70% of kJ - it varies. Might be based on HR as it's a lower percentage when I do short intervals.

All that said, I never pay any attention to calorie figures during a ride. My 800 will also show Cal on the screen, but I never do that and don't know what its basis is. Maybe it's the same as the kcal on TrainingPeaks.
__________________
Results matter
Carbonfiberboy is offline  
Old 05-18-21, 06:44 PM
  #55  
adamrice
mosquito rancher
 
adamrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 766

Bikes: Bob Jackson 853 Arrowhead; Felt VR30; Kinesis UK RTD

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked 101 Times in 80 Posts
Originally Posted by Carbonfiberboy View Post
The kcal is always less than the kJ, usually between 60% and 70% of kJ - it varies. Might be based on HR as it's a lower percentage when I do short intervals.
I recall reading that Wahoo head units will estimate kCal based on HR even when you have a power meter (perhaps that was fixed in a firmware update). I don't think I'd heard that about Garmins but who knows?
adamrice is offline  
Old 05-18-21, 07:19 PM
  #56  
terrymorse 
climber has-been
 
terrymorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 4,273

Bikes: Scott Addict R1

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked 767 Times in 423 Posts
Interesting article here on Garmin and Strava accuracy at estimating Calories, with and without a power meter:

HOW ACCURATE IS THE CALORIE COUNT ON YOUR GARMIN?

tl;dr:

Garmin with power: estimate low by 15%
Garmin without power: estimate high by 52%
Strava on iPhone (kJ estimate only): "pretty close"
Converting from kJ to Calories: Calories = kJ * 4.8 / 4.184 = kJ * 1.15
__________________
Ride, Rest, Repeat
terrymorse is offline  
Old 05-18-21, 08:50 PM
  #57  
Carbonfiberboy 
just another gosling
 
Carbonfiberboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 17,650

Bikes: CoMo Speedster 2003, Trek 5200, CAAD 9, Fred 2004

Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3020 Post(s)
Liked 936 Times in 709 Posts
Originally Posted by adamrice View Post
I recall reading that Wahoo head units will estimate kCal based on HR even when you have a power meter (perhaps that was fixed in a firmware update). I don't think I'd heard that about Garmins but who knows?
Wahoo's calorie calculation is explained here: https://support.wahoofitness.com/hc/...o-Fitness-App-
With a PM, it's
  • Calorie rate = (4.184kJ) * 0.239
__________________
Results matter
Carbonfiberboy is offline  
Old 05-19-21, 08:18 AM
  #58  
nlel
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
This is how my calorie controlled diet is coming along, started taking measurements on the 24th April...



This is me today...

nlel is offline  
Likes For nlel:
Old 05-19-21, 10:11 AM
  #59  
caloso
Senior Member
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 40,318

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Canyon Exceed, Specialized Transition, Ellsworth Roots, Ridley Excalibur

Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2719 Post(s)
Liked 2,428 Times in 1,126 Posts
Originally Posted by Carbonfiberboy View Post
Wahoo's calorie calculation is explained here: https://support.wahoofitness.com/hc/...o-Fitness-App-
With a PM, it's
  • Calorie rate = (4.184kJ) * 0.239
= .999976

So essentially 1:1?
caloso is offline  
Likes For caloso:
Old 05-19-21, 10:51 AM
  #60  
Barry2 
LRųP=HR
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,026

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 93 C-dale MT3000 Tandem, 96 C-dale F700CAD3, 2018 Cervelo R3, JustGo Runt, Ridley Oval, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked 392 Times in 247 Posts
Originally Posted by nlel View Post
This is how my calorie controlled diet is coming along
nlel,
IMHO you need to go back to post #21 in this thread.
Where you will find this
Originally Posted by Barry2 View Post
Fitness goal first, weight loss goal will follow.
It's not all about weightloss !!!!!!!
People keep telling you, calories are good if you use them to fuel your exercise.

Are you getting fitter?
Are you able to exercise for longer durations?
Have you STOPPED allowing yourself to bonk?

Else it's just a starvation diet with intermittent exercise punishments.

All the best

Barry
Barry2 is offline  
Likes For Barry2:
Old 05-19-21, 03:01 PM
  #61  
Bearhawker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada
Posts: 125

Bikes: '19 Norco Bigfoot 6.1 (primary ride),'12 Motobecane Turino (killed by dog crash), '12 Trek 3700 Disc

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked 45 Times in 24 Posts
Originally Posted by OBoile View Post
I don't know if the OP is still around, but there is something seriously wrong with your diet if it is the reason you can't do 30 minutes of exercise at a time.
LOL

About a decade ago I decided I was going to get fit and lose weight. I have knee & back issues (lost 2cm off a leg in a motorcycle accident) so I didn't think I could do anything but walk, so I bought the cheapest eliptical trainer I could find. Day 1 (January) exercise consisted of assembling the unit and a bottle of wine. Next day I was on for a few minutes. I got up to 5 minutes and when I could do 5 minutes a day for 6 days I went to 10 minutes. Then 15, 30, and sometimes more.

In May that year I was running sub-30 minute 5k races.

So yes I agree that there is something terribly wrong if you cannot do 30 minutes of exercise at a time... but I also know that you can fix that!

For 30 years I didn't think I could ride a bike because of my leg length discrepancy... once I found that out I never ran again.
Bearhawker is offline  
Old 05-19-21, 04:03 PM
  #62  
genejockey 
Klaatu..Verata..Necktie?
 
genejockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,782

Bikes: Canyon Endurace, 105; Battaglin MAX, Chorus; Bianchi 928 Veloce; Ritchey Road Logic, Dura Ace; Cannondale R500 RX100; Schwinn Circuit, Sante; Lotus Supreme, Dura Ace

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3436 Post(s)
Liked 3,654 Times in 1,841 Posts
Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
I would budget some calories for before your ride. Riding fasted is a thing people do, but I find it somewhat unpleasant.
I can do it, if I do it in the morning, after coffee. I can go up to 90 minutes (less if I'm really pushing it) with no food, and not feel hungry or like my blood sugar is too low. BUT, if I go beyond that and don't eat it becomes unpleasant. But that's me.
__________________
"Don't take life so serious-it ain't nohow permanent."
genejockey is online now  
Old 05-19-21, 04:10 PM
  #63  
surak
Senior Member
 
surak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,585

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix, Canyon Inflite AL SLX, Priority Continuum Onyx, Santana Vision, Kent Dual-Drive Tandem

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked 523 Times in 301 Posts
Originally Posted by adamrice View Post
I recall reading that Wahoo head units will estimate kCal based on HR even when you have a power meter (perhaps that was fixed in a firmware update).
Yes, Wahoo fixed it so it would use the powermeter numbers. The estimate from HR was ludicrously inaccurate for me.
surak is offline  
Likes For surak:
Old 05-24-21, 11:12 PM
  #64  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15211 Post(s)
Liked 6,397 Times in 3,623 Posts
Originally Posted by Barry2 View Post
Some Bike Computers are able to display Cals in real-time during the ride.
Wahoo Bolt & Roam for example.

Barry
My (Garmin) watch can do that, too, but I don't find it useful to know while I'm riding so I don't have it displayed.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Likes For Seattle Forrest:
Old 06-26-21, 06:51 AM
  #65  
nlel
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Here's where I'm at today...



Not far to reach my goal of 10.5 Stone.
nlel is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.