Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Gosh Darn Wahoo!!!

Old 07-14-21, 05:22 PM
  #1  
cthenn
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 2,567

Bikes: 2015 Trek Emonda SLR, 2002 Litespeed Classic, 2005 Bianchi Pista, 2016 Devinci Hatchet, Some BikesDirect MTB I never ride.

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked 96 Times in 59 Posts
Gosh Darn Wahoo!!!

Man how the mighty have fallen. Used to love my Wahoo Elemnt Bolt, but it's just been getting more and more buggy over the years. I have an ongoing list of issues, but the latest one is the sudden stop of SMS messages showing up on screen. Nothing has changed in my settings, the app and firmware are up to date, so I can only assume that one of these updates screwed with my particular model of phone, and something isn't compatible, or some permission/setting changed. I have checked all of the settings on the phone and device, and everything seems to be in order. I've tried many of the suggested fixes I found by Googling it, nothing seems to work. It went from working on one ride, to not working at all the next, and nothing seems to fix it.

Anyone having the same issue with text messages not working on a Wahoo computer? I have no idea what else to try, I've tried practically everything, including deleting the app and reinstalling. The last resort is a factory reset, but I don't know if that'll fix it, and I really don't want to do that, I don't know what that's gonna screw up, including losing all of my data pages. Wahoo used to be the less ****ty version of Garmin, far less buggy, but they sure have caught up...

Last edited by cb400bill; 07-15-21 at 06:47 AM. Reason: Do not change the spelling of words to bypass forum censor
cthenn is offline  
Old 07-15-21, 05:11 AM
  #2  
shelbyfv 
Senior Member
 
shelbyfv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 9,151
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2570 Post(s)
Liked 2,827 Times in 1,510 Posts
Bummer. Sounds like time for a factory reset or a new unit if that doesn't work. Good luck!
shelbyfv is offline  
Old 07-15-21, 06:07 AM
  #3  
Bearhawker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada
Posts: 125

Bikes: '19 Norco Bigfoot 6.1 (primary ride),'12 Motobecane Turino (killed by dog crash), '12 Trek 3700 Disc

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked 45 Times in 24 Posts
I have *never* had a problem with my Roam - and I've even hacked it a bit by adding custom icons for when it is paired to a Garmin Varia radar tail light.

in fact it is the single most rock-solid electronic device I have ever owned.

Something has gone terribly wrong with yours - I hope it is an easy fix.
Bearhawker is offline  
Old 07-15-21, 06:40 AM
  #4  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 1,601 Times in 1,152 Posts
I have a feeling there is something going on with the phone. Is it an older phone? Wahoo gives up on older versions of phone OS very quickly in my estimation. They told me to buy a new phone when I had a problem with my kickr. But it may be something like a cache issue on the phone.
unterhausen is offline  
Likes For unterhausen:
Old 07-15-21, 09:17 AM
  #5  
chaadster
Thread Killer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 10,700

Bikes: '15 Kinesis Racelight 4S, '76 Motebecane Gran Jubile, '17 Dedacciai Gladiatore2, '12 Breezer Venturi, '09 Dahon Mariner, '12 Mercier Nano, '95 DeKerf Team SL, '19 Tern Rally, 21 Breezer Doppler Cafe+, 19 T Lab X3

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1690 Post(s)
Liked 720 Times in 448 Posts
Which methods did you use attempting to fix it? I recently had to “forget” my Bolt on my iPhone12 when Strava routes wouldn’t sync. There had been recent updates to both devices, but I don’t know what caused the issue…it could have been on Strava’s end for all I know. Anyway, after reconnecting, it works as it’s supposed again.
chaadster is online now  
Likes For chaadster:
Old 07-15-21, 11:05 AM
  #6  
Ronkc45
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Messages not coming in on the Bolt almost always happens to me after an app update...
Forget phone on Bolt
Forget Bolt in app
Forget Bolt in bluetooth settings
Scan QR and add phone
Ronkc45 is offline  
Likes For Ronkc45:
Old 07-15-21, 09:00 PM
  #7  
Barry2 
LRP=HR
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,026

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 93 C-dale MT3000 Tandem, 96 C-dale F700CAD3, 2018 Cervelo R3, JustGo Runt, Ridley Oval, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked 392 Times in 247 Posts
IPhone

My Bolt and Roam are having a tough time with Bluetooth sensors lately and especially if my iPhone is anywhere near.
I just went and disabled background refresh on all iPhone apps in the hope it will help.

Barry
Barry2 is offline  
Old 07-25-21, 09:32 AM
  #8  
bikebikebike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 431

Bikes: Downtube IX NS&FS, Dahon Speed8Pro/Matrix/Curve, Brom S2L,Montague Para, ICE-XL w/Rollie/Schlumpf, Trident Spike, ebikes, BFSatRDay

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked 65 Times in 55 Posts
I got my Moto mechanic a T-shirt that says
"They All Do That"



I really think that all the devices need a Consumer Reports like chart of reliability.
Irate Folks seem to switch brands like my Grand Pa used to switch schuls.
1 in 5 rides buggy on my Karoo, but they (HH) are responsive and it has a great screen
Garmin 530+ vexes me in ways I cannot mention without apologizing to God.
.
"With Complexity Comes Great Responsibility"
bikebikebike is offline  
Likes For bikebikebike:
Old 07-25-21, 09:45 AM
  #9  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 1,601 Times in 1,152 Posts
Sometimes it amazes me that bluetooth is so ubiquitous because it works poorly much of the time. I have to forget my car from my phone once a week, for example. I had to spend 5 minutes getting music to play on my bluetooth headphones yesterday. I think my garmin watch and 830 gps work okay with bluetooth, but I had to disable notifications on the 830 because CVS had a bad habit of calling me for no reason when I was on early Sunday morning rides.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 07-25-21, 01:20 PM
  #10  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 5,147

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2008 Post(s)
Liked 736 Times in 455 Posts
Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
Sometimes it amazes me that bluetooth is so ubiquitous because it works poorly much of the time. I have to forget my car from my phone once a week, for example. I had to spend 5 minutes getting music to play on my bluetooth headphones yesterday. I think my garmin watch and 830 gps work okay with bluetooth, but I had to disable notifications on the 830 because CVS had a bad habit of calling me for no reason when I was on early Sunday morning rides.
Maybe the reason Hammerhead has stayed away from BT for getting data to and off the device, prefering WiFi instead, to the extent of adding a SIM card slot for users to use cheap cell data. WiFi is seemingly far more reliable. HH does use BT to get call and text notifications from a phone, but that's it.
Steve B. is offline  
Old 07-25-21, 01:48 PM
  #11  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 1,601 Times in 1,152 Posts
My 830 will use wifi, but I'm not sure I ever set it up. So far it just works to upload files to strava/garmin connect, so I'm not digging into it.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 07-29-21, 07:27 AM
  #12  
DuraAcer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 17

Bikes: 1979 Olmo SG Full Panto, 1986 DeRosa SLX, 1989 Eddy Merckx SLX Team-Stuttgart, 1994 Albuch Kotter Cromor, 2006 Campus/Rohloff

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 5 Posts
My Wahoo roam works since two years like an absolute charm and never let me down, would buy anytime again.
DuraAcer is offline  
Likes For DuraAcer:
Old 07-29-21, 07:38 AM
  #13  
BHG6
Senior Member
 
BHG6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 160

Bikes: BH G6, BMC Race Machine

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked 186 Times in 69 Posts
Originally Posted by Barry2 View Post
My Bolt and Roam are having a tough time with Bluetooth sensors lately and especially if my iPhone is anywhere near.
I just went and disabled background refresh on all iPhone apps in the hope it will help.

Barry
Ive been having issues with BT sensors as well and its been going on for quite some time. Every time I get it working they come up with a new update that jacks it up again. Getting a bit annoying, to be perfectly honest
BHG6 is offline  
Old 08-23-21, 03:12 PM
  #14  
frogmorton
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked 27 Times in 15 Posts
4 years with my bolt and no problems. IPhone X and all wahoo sensors.
frogmorton is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.