Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Help! Just bought a Nakto Fat Tire bike... not power!?

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Help! Just bought a Nakto Fat Tire bike... not power!?

Old 07-04-21, 09:48 PM
  #1  
kctrading
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
kctrading's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Help! Just bought a Nakto Fat Tire bike... no power!!?

I just picked up one of these from a bike shop that sells seconds... they do not repair them just sell bikes.

This is a brand new 2021 Nakto Fat Tire Bike 4.0x26" It has a 36V battery pack. I paid $350 for it.

Here's what it's doing:

LCD powers up ok... I can get the LCD panel to power up and it shows full power. But there is no power to the motor.
When I hit the power it gets a momentary blip that it's getting power for a second then disappears ....when I pull the brake handles that blip on the LCD
does not show up. Would seem the brake switches are ok? I was told by the seller that it could be a bad motor or controller... but it would be nice if it was
something cheaper : )

Anyone else run across this?

I'll try to post some pics tomorrow
Any suggestions?


Last edited by kctrading; 07-08-21 at 05:59 PM.
kctrading is offline  
Old 07-05-21, 06:16 AM
  #2  
dedhed
SE Wis
 
dedhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 7,930

Bikes: '68 Raleigh Sprite, '02 Raleigh C500, '84 Raleigh Gran Prix, '91 Trek 400, 2013 Novara Randonee, 1990 Trek 970

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1708 Post(s)
Liked 1,358 Times in 879 Posts
Like any electrical diagnosis follow the electrons
dedhed is offline  
Old 07-05-21, 07:06 AM
  #3  
HillRider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 32,906

Bikes: '96 Litespeed Catalyst, '05 Litespeed Firenze, '06 Litespeed Tuscany, '20 Surly Midnight Special, All are 3x10. It is hilly around here!

Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1688 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 565 Times in 418 Posts
I assume the seller not only doesn't do repairs but offers no warranty? Can you contact the manufacturer for some troubleshooting help?
HillRider is offline  
Old 07-05-21, 08:11 AM
  #4  
Crankycrank
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,428
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked 349 Times in 276 Posts
I recommend asking the moderators if you can move this to the "Electric Bikes" section. Probably a greater number of experienced folks over there.
Crankycrank is offline  
Likes For Crankycrank:
Old 07-05-21, 10:07 AM
  #5  
2old
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: socal
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked 347 Times in 257 Posts
Agree ^^^. Did you try it before you made the purchase? I would return, if possible. Otherwise, without any more info, sounds like the battery is shot, easy enough to check if you can borrow one.
2old is offline  
Old 07-05-21, 09:54 PM
  #6  
3alarmer
Friendship is Magic
 
3alarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Big Tomato
Posts: 19,888

Bikes: old ones

Mentioned: 283 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21814 Post(s)
Liked 4,693 Times in 3,437 Posts
.
...find someone who does electrical diagnosis (like cars or other electronical stuff), and pay that person to run down the issue. I used to do automotive electrical, and you can spend a lot of money replacing stuff that is not broke, if you don't have some basic diagnostic tools and some knowledge of how your thing works. Any guesses anyone gives you here on the internet will just be chasing squirrels.

Stuff like putting in a battery you know is good and fully charged is something you can do, but if you need to buy a battery to do it, it's not a cost effective solution. Unless you do need a new battery.

Why would you buy an electric bike you know from your discussion with the seller is busted, unless you know how to fix stuff like that yourself ?
3alarmer is offline  
Likes For 3alarmer:
Old 07-05-21, 11:47 PM
  #7  
CliffordK
Senior Member
 
CliffordK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Posts: 26,053
Mentioned: 209 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14457 Post(s)
Liked 2,432 Times in 1,810 Posts
You'll have to go through basic diagnostics. Pull the battery and see if you can physically verify the voltage. And, if possible, voltage drop when in use.

See if you can figure out how to hotwire the motor. Is that a mid-drive? There are a couple of big mid-drive manufacturers, but that may be a Chinese clone.

Keep an eye out for loose, bent, damaged connectors.
CliffordK is offline  
Old 07-06-21, 12:15 AM
  #8  
alo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 254 Times in 185 Posts
It gets down to how much you understand electrical circuits yourself. If you know what you are doing, you can get information about that particular bike, and check it out yourself. If you have no idea about those things, find someone who does.

How much do you understand about electrical circuits? If someone told you what to check, would you understand what they are talking about?

There are even issues like, you may need to enter a pin code to turn it on.

A lot of electric bikes from China with small wheels are being sold here for around $300 to $400 new. I am waiting to see if, in a few years time, people sell them for $50 not working. There will probably be someone who can fix them, and they will probably sell for more than that, but see what happens.

Last edited by alo; 07-06-21 at 12:41 AM.
alo is offline  
Likes For alo:
Old 07-06-21, 12:32 AM
  #9  
alo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 254 Times in 185 Posts
Here is the website. See what you can find out here.

https://www.e-bikes.com/collections/...fat-tire-ebike
alo is offline  
Old 07-06-21, 12:39 AM
  #10  
alo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 254 Times in 185 Posts
Originally Posted by CliffordK View Post
See if you can figure out how to hotwire the motor.
Most electric bikes have brushless motors. So you would hot wire the controller. This is probably what you meant.
alo is offline  
Old 07-06-21, 12:45 AM
  #11  
alo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 254 Times in 185 Posts
The first thing to check would be voltage drop when you try to get it to go. If there is a big voltage drop, buy a new battery. They sell them on the website linked in a previous post.
alo is offline  
Old 07-06-21, 03:17 AM
  #12  
alo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 254 Times in 185 Posts
Another option is to connect 3 old style filament car headlights in series, and connect them to the battery, and see how it goes. They should not draw as much power as the motor, but you should be able to see if they light up, and stay lit up for a long time. this should give you an idea of the condition of the battery.
alo is offline  
Old 07-06-21, 03:29 AM
  #13  
alo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 254 Times in 185 Posts
There are a number of videos here.

https://www.e-bikes.com/pages/help-center

Here is one.

https://www.e-bikes.com/pages/check-ebikes-problem
alo is offline  
Old 07-07-21, 02:58 PM
  #14  
kctrading
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
kctrading's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by alo View Post
Another option is to connect 3 old style filament car headlights in series, and connect them to the battery, and see how it goes. They should not draw as much power as the motor, but you should be able to see if they light up, and stay lit up for a long time. this should give you an idea of the condition of the battery.
Battery us good as the other 20" bike uses the exact same battery. Today I noticed the wires at the motor have been damaged/cut. This is 350W 36v motor (see pic) can I take it apart and replace the wires? I fly RC planes too so have everything needed if it can be done

I hope this didn't takeout the ESC too? :/
kctrading is offline  
Old 07-07-21, 03:00 PM
  #15  
kctrading
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
kctrading's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by dedhed View Post
Like any electrical diagnosis follow the electrons
I agree...found some cut wires...I need 10 post to attach some pics....ugh!
kctrading is offline  
Old 07-07-21, 03:01 PM
  #16  
kctrading
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
kctrading's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
links....


I'll ck them out, thks
kctrading is offline  
Old 07-07-21, 03:02 PM
  #17  
kctrading
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
kctrading's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by CliffordK View Post
You'll have to go through basic diagnostics. Pull the battery and see if you can physically verify the voltage. And, if possible, voltage drop when in use.

See if you can figure out how to hotwire the motor. Is that a mid-drive? There are a couple of big mid-drive manufacturers, but that may be a Chinese clone.

Keep an eye out for loose, bent, damaged connectors.
Ck what I found so far....
kctrading is offline  
Old 07-07-21, 03:04 PM
  #18  
kctrading
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
kctrading's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by alo View Post
The first thing to check would be voltage drop when you try to get it to go. If there is a big voltage drop, buy a new battery. They sell them on the website linked in a previous post.
10th post.... I'll send some pics now
kctrading is offline  
Old 07-07-21, 03:14 PM
  #19  
CliffordK
Senior Member
 
CliffordK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Posts: 26,053
Mentioned: 209 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14457 Post(s)
Liked 2,432 Times in 1,810 Posts
Originally Posted by kctrading View Post
10th post.... I'll send some pics now


Another day for #11?
CliffordK is offline  
Old 07-07-21, 04:20 PM
  #20  
alo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 254 Times in 185 Posts
Originally Posted by kctrading View Post
Battery us good as the other 20" bike uses the exact same battery. Today I noticed the wires at the motor have been damaged/cut. This is 350W 36v motor (see pic) can I take it apart and replace the wires?
Yes. Replace the wires.

It seems like you got a bargain, if it is only a minor repair.
alo is offline  
Old 07-08-21, 06:09 PM
  #21  
kctrading
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
kctrading's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I added two pictures to the original post. I have a 9 pin cable coming from Amazon rated to 5pp watts. This has a 350 watt hub.

Any tricks in removing hub? One thing is I don't have puller. Can it be done without one?

I want to check the sensor while I'm in there. Watched couple YouTube videos on this.

Not sure about the ESC condition....Motor green wire was cut in two all but white sensor wire were cut in two... from shipping. I can get a original replacement for $20.
kctrading is offline  
Old 07-11-21, 09:31 PM
  #22  
speedy25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NE oHIo
Posts: 989

Bikes: Specialized, Trek, Diamondback, Schwinn, Peugeot

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Nice chop up on the motor cable!!

If you are handy, and can solder, you can replace it. Most people arent and they send them to me for repair.

I dont know what your "replacement" for $20 is.

And just like crankycrank posted, this thread should have been moved to the e-bike forum. E-bike content has always been moved in the past.

-SP
speedy25 is offline  
Likes For speedy25:
Old 07-12-21, 06:30 AM
  #23  
shelbyfv 
Senior Member
 
shelbyfv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 9,198
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2590 Post(s)
Liked 2,885 Times in 1,531 Posts
Originally Posted by speedy25 View Post
Nice chop up on the motor cable!!

If you are handy, and can solder, you can replace it. Most people arent and they send them to me for repair.

I dont know what your "replacement" for $20 is.

And just like crankycrank posted, this thread should have been moved to the e-bike forum. E-bike content has always been moved in the past.

-SP
They seem to have a new policy of not moving threads to the appropriate forum.
shelbyfv is offline  
Old 07-12-21, 01:31 PM
  #24  
Buzzkill53120
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 78

Bikes: Trek X-Caliber (2020), Trek Trek Madone 5.1 (2011), Trek 1400 (1991)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked 35 Times in 17 Posts
Originally Posted by speedy25 View Post
Nice chop up on the motor cable!!

If you are handy, and can solder, you can replace it. Most people arent and they send them to me for repair.

I dont know what your "replacement" for $20 is.

And just like crankycrank posted, this thread should have been moved to the e-bike forum. E-bike content has always been moved in the past.

-SP
I looked at the photo and all ten leads are either cut or damaged. I don’t know anything about the hub, can it disassembled and new leads replaced? If that’s not the case I don’t see anybody able to repair the leads, especially the insulation (shrink tubing) as there isn’t much space going into the axle. I wouldn’t even want to power that up given how the leads look.
Buzzkill53120 is offline  
Old 07-12-21, 09:42 PM
  #25  
kctrading
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
kctrading's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I received the replacement lead that will need to be re-solder them to the motor once I disassemble it.... per the youtube videos it's looks pretty easy...thanks
kctrading is offline  
Likes For kctrading:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.