Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

GPS that has odometer for multiple bikes

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

GPS that has odometer for multiple bikes

Old 07-11-21, 02:57 AM
  #1  
Lazyass
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Minas Ithil
Posts: 9,019
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2302 Post(s)
Liked 425 Times in 268 Posts
GPS that has odometer for multiple bikes

I have a Bryton Rider 530. One of the reasons I bought it is that you can set it up for two bikes. After I bought it I released that the odometer cannot be set up for multiple bikes. You can do everything else but that. I like to keep track of the exact miles each of my bikes has. I want to know the total miles the frames have and I want to keep track of how many miles all the consumable parts have. So that sucks and I only use it for one bike because of that.

Does anyone have a gps that does have them separate? I have my eye on the Garmin 530 but I can't tell by reading the manual online.
Lazyass is offline  
Old 07-11-21, 03:31 AM
  #2  
KenCT 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 154

Bikes: Cannondale Synapse Carbon 105 (2021) Cannondale Cujo 2 (2018) Cannondale Quick Carbon 1 (2017) Giant Sedona (2006) Cannondale R1000 (2001)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked 148 Times in 75 Posts
If you use Strava you can assign each ride to a separate bike, just add bikes in the gear section. This works in the free version of the program.
KenCT is offline  
Likes For KenCT:
Old 07-11-21, 03:34 AM
  #3  
Welshboy
PBP Ancien (2007)
 
Welshboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 177

Bikes: B-Twin Triban100 (for commuting), Cannondale CAAD12, Cannondale CAAD12 Team CNCPT, CAADX, Verenti Technique, Giant TCR SL2

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked 84 Times in 52 Posts
I'm not sure about GPS units recording the mileage for different bikes but Strava does this just fine.

StravaBikeMileage by Spinners1961, on Flickr
Welshboy is offline  
Old 07-11-21, 05:57 AM
  #4  
tcs
Palmer
 
tcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 6,599

Bikes: 1980 Mike Melton, 1982 Stumpjumper, 1982 Santana, 1984 Alex Moulton AM, 2008 BikeFriday tikit T-♾, 2010 Dawes Briercliffe, 2017 Dahon Curl i8, 2019 Surly ˝DT14, 2021 Motobecane Turino 1x12

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 846 Post(s)
Liked 378 Times in 244 Posts
'I want to keep track of how many miles all the consumable parts have.' So you'll have some sort of log book/file to note replacement mileages. Could just keep running totals there.
tcs is offline  
Old 07-11-21, 06:48 AM
  #5  
texbiker
Senior Member
 
texbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kingwood, TX
Posts: 942

Bikes: Canyon Endurace CF SLX, Blue Norcorss AL, Lynskey R300

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked 47 Times in 41 Posts
I use the website SportTracks.mobi. I setup whatever gear I want to track and it keeps tracks or all the details when I select the gear for each ride. An example: https://sporttracks.mobi/activity/28360933
texbiker is offline  
Old 07-11-21, 09:36 AM
  #6  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 22,117
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15172 Post(s)
Liked 6,319 Times in 3,582 Posts
Garmin hardware doesn't have a per bike odometer. Their software does, you have to tell it which bike you used for a ride to get that. You do it after the fact on a computer (which can be a phone or tablet).
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 07-11-21, 10:33 AM
  #7  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 5,140

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2005 Post(s)
Liked 728 Times in 451 Posts
Originally Posted by Lazyass View Post
I have a Bryton Rider 530. One of the reasons I bought it is that you can set it up for two bikes. After I bought it I released that the odometer cannot be set up for multiple bikes. You can do everything else but that. I like to keep track of the exact miles each of my bikes has. I want to know the total miles the frames have and I want to keep track of how many miles all the consumable parts have. So that sucks and I only use it for one bike because of that.

Does anyone have a gps that does have them separate? I have my eye on the Garmin 530 but I can't tell by reading the manual online.
I'm not ware of any of the upper tier GPS devices that track specific bike activities in the device. Garmin uses Activity Profiles and you can name them as per the bike (Road, Gravel, Mountain, etc...) you can also set in the profile a particular type of activity for that profile, and that different activity shows up in the uploaded ride data in the web Connect app. But Garmin doesn't let you manipulate (search, filter, isolate), etc...that information as far as I can tell. Hammerhead and Wahoo do not save Profile data. What I use is RideWithGPS. My Garmin and now my Karoo 2 send my completed ride information to RWGPS. I then typically edit the ride in RWGPS and indicate a particular bike used, and make comments if I did maintenance, had issues. etc.... I can search for that information as well to see when I changed a cassette and chain. Strava can do this as well, not sure about Kamoots or Connect and those are programs I'm aware of.
Steve B. is offline  
Old 07-11-21, 11:36 AM
  #8  
Badger6
Obsessed with Eddington
 
Badger6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brussels (BE) 🇧🇪
Posts: 943

Bikes: '16 Spesh Diverge, '14 Spesh Fatboy, '18 Spesh Epic, '18 Spesh SL6, '21 Spesh SL7, '21 Spesh Diverge...and maybe n+1?

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked 351 Times in 234 Posts
Can be done in Connect, but only for a whole bike, no components that I am aware of. It's far better in Strava, because you can also designate components on the bike. As you swap them out, just go into Strava and retire them and then add the new one new one. E.g., Chains and cassettes, and brake pads, I do this every time I change those out. Doing this, each time you designate a particular bike for a ride, it will add the mileage (or Kms if you follow The Rules) to the components.

Last edited by Badger6; 07-11-21 at 11:40 AM.
Badger6 is offline  
Old 07-11-21, 12:08 PM
  #9  
Lazyass
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Minas Ithil
Posts: 9,019
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2302 Post(s)
Liked 425 Times in 268 Posts
Originally Posted by KenCT View Post
If you use Strava you can assign each ride to a separate bike, just add bikes in the gear section. This works in the free version of the program.
I'm stupid. I have strava and just saw it's kept track of the mileage. I guess that will have to be good enough, thanks.

*edit*
I almost never bother changing bikes in strava when I take one on a different ride so the odometer numbers are all wrong. When I go into "edit bike" there isn't a box for the odo. Then I went to add another bike to basically start over. There is no longer an odometer box in that, either. I guess that went away for the free version when they changed everything up awhile back?

Last edited by Lazyass; 07-11-21 at 12:15 PM.
Lazyass is offline  
Old 07-11-21, 11:40 PM
  #10  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 22,117
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15172 Post(s)
Liked 6,319 Times in 3,582 Posts
Originally Posted by Badger6 View Post
Can be done in Connect, but only for a whole bike, no components that I am aware of.
Add them as gear under "other." Then make them default for cycling.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Likes For Seattle Forrest:
Old 07-11-21, 11:50 PM
  #11  
Badger6
Obsessed with Eddington
 
Badger6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brussels (BE) 🇧🇪
Posts: 943

Bikes: '16 Spesh Diverge, '14 Spesh Fatboy, '18 Spesh Epic, '18 Spesh SL6, '21 Spesh SL7, '21 Spesh Diverge...and maybe n+1?

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked 351 Times in 234 Posts
Ah, excellent point, since multiple "gear" can be added to an activity...but, it seems clunky, unless there is a way to link all the components to each bike that they are installed on, so that a single click captures the wear items one would want to track.
Badger6 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.