Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Power meter compatability for old(ish) bike

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Power meter compatability for old(ish) bike

Old 07-13-21, 10:03 PM
  #1  
millwaj78
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Power meter compatability for old(ish) bike

Hi all. I'm not very clued up on all things bikes / parts - I just get on the saddle, pedal hard and pay a fortune for new stuff every once in a while. After selling my old vector pedals around 4 years ago, I've been powerless for a while and I'm now looking to dive back in. The issue is, I haven't a clue how to determine whether my current bike is compatible with the various options out there. I don't want to go back to pedals (bad memories with the vectors), and like the look of the 4iiii left only crank, and the quarq dzero spider after some desktop research.... I want something pretty cheap and I'm not fussed about super-precise accuracy... just something that works easily (connectivity, durability).

The bike I want to add power to is a Trek Domane Six Series. Think it's a 2015/6 model. Dura Ace (not sure which model exactly, says FC-9000 on inside of the crank), with no mods other than new wheels. Does that give you enough info on the bike to provide me with some recommendations on which power meter I can buy that meets my needs? Any advice greatly appreciated.
millwaj78 is offline  
Old 07-13-21, 11:59 PM
  #2  
Badger6
Obsessed with Eddington
 
Badger6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brussels (BE) 🇧🇪
Posts: 950

Bikes: '16 Spesh Diverge, '14 Spesh Fatboy, '18 Spesh Epic, '18 Spesh SL6, '21 Spesh SL7, '21 Spesh Diverge...and maybe n+1?

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked 351 Times in 234 Posts
The simplest (and probably least expensive in the long run) solution would be a 4iii or Stages R9100 LS crank arm. It'll take less than 5 minutes to install, with no special tools other than a crank-arm cap tool.
Badger6 is offline  
Likes For Badger6:
Old 07-14-21, 02:24 AM
  #3  
PeteHski
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked 720 Times in 477 Posts
Originally Posted by badger6 View Post
the simplest (and probably least expensive in the long run) solution would be a 4iii or stages r9100 ls crank arm. It'll take less than 5 minutes to install, with no special tools other than a crank-arm cap tool.
+1
PeteHski is offline  
Old 07-14-21, 05:38 AM
  #4  
mvnsnd
Senior Member
 
mvnsnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: WNY
Posts: 3,001

Bikes: Caad10, Caad2

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked 51 Times in 37 Posts
Another possibility is power based pedals. There are still some deals to be had on the Garmin Vectors. These can also be switched to nearly any other bike.

https://www.westernbikeworks.com/search?kw2=vector
mvnsnd is offline  
Old 07-14-21, 11:03 AM
  #5  
MinnMan
Senior Member
 
MinnMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 4,250

Bikes: 2020 Salsa Warbird GRX 600, 2020 Canyon Ultimate CF SLX disc 9.0 Di2, 2020 Catrike Eola, 2016 Masi cxgr, 2011, Felt F3 Ltd, 2010 Trek 2.1, 2009 KHS Flite 220

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3048 Post(s)
Liked 1,944 Times in 1,165 Posts
Originally Posted by mvnsnd View Post
Another possibility is power based pedals. There are still some deals to be had on the Garmin Vectors. These can also be switched to nearly any other bike.

https://www.westernbikeworks.com/search?kw2=vector
Maybe read all of the OP before replying?
MinnMan is offline  
Old 07-14-21, 11:13 AM
  #6  
Zaskar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked 139 Times in 88 Posts
2014 is old?! ;-) I have a Stages left side PM on my 1998 Klein single speed. The Stages has been great. I actually bought the dual-sided crankset (chainset for you Brits) and move the left side crank around. I've only heard good things about the 4iii too.
Zaskar is offline  
Old 07-14-21, 11:33 AM
  #7  
caloso
Senior Member
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 40,314

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Canyon Exceed, Specialized Transition, Ellsworth Roots, Ridley Excalibur

Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2719 Post(s)
Liked 2,425 Times in 1,125 Posts
I have a Stages left arm PM on my old Ridley. See here: https://store.stagescycling.com/STAGES-POWER-L-105-5800
The Shimano ones are cross compatible with all Hollowtech II cranks, including first gen DA 7800, which is what I have. Works great.

Here's the one that matches yours: $250. A total bargain. https://store.stagescycling.com/STAG...DURA-ACE-R9000

Last edited by caloso; 07-14-21 at 11:38 AM.
caloso is offline  
Likes For caloso:
Old 07-14-21, 12:08 PM
  #8  
Badger6
Obsessed with Eddington
 
Badger6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brussels (BE) 🇧🇪
Posts: 950

Bikes: '16 Spesh Diverge, '14 Spesh Fatboy, '18 Spesh Epic, '18 Spesh SL6, '21 Spesh SL7, '21 Spesh Diverge...and maybe n+1?

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked 351 Times in 234 Posts
@millwaj78, the link provided to the stages is indeed a great deal, but since R9000 is now 5(or is it 6) years old, don't dawdle. And At $250, that is a smoking deal!
Badger6 is offline  
Likes For Badger6:
Old 07-14-21, 12:44 PM
  #9  
Andy Somnifac 
Shut up legs.
 
Andy Somnifac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,258

Bikes: Too many.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked 142 Times in 70 Posts
Or you could get a PowerTap hub and lace it to a rim of your choosing. That's my current power metering solution, so I definitely would prefer a pedal or spider-based system.
__________________


Andy Somnifac is offline  
Old 07-14-21, 12:48 PM
  #10  
TMonk
Not actually Tmonk
 
TMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 11,993

Bikes: road, track, mtb

Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1252 Post(s)
Liked 1,040 Times in 553 Posts
I just switched to pedals (Favero Assioma Duo) after being a powertab hub user for about 10 years. Love 'em. I do highly recommend.

The ptap is a great product that met my needs for a long time. I switched b/c I wanted to ride with power using race wheels on my time trial bike, be able to more easily swap the meter between differently configured bikes, and just enjoy some nicer wheels for my daily driver training bike (Giant TCR).
__________________
"Your beauty is an aeroplane;
so high, my heart cannot bear the strain." -A.C. Jobim, Triste
TMonk is offline  
Likes For TMonk:
Old 07-14-21, 03:13 PM
  #11  
caloso
Senior Member
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 40,314

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Canyon Exceed, Specialized Transition, Ellsworth Roots, Ridley Excalibur

Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2719 Post(s)
Liked 2,425 Times in 1,125 Posts
The Shimano-Stages set-up is also super quick and easy to switch between bikes. I will swap it from my TT bike to my road bike that lives on the trainer in about 5 minutes. Just takes a 5mm hex wrench and an end cap tool.

The only limitation is that you'll have to have similar gearing. With pedals, like TMonk has, it could be completely different configurations.
caloso is offline  
Likes For caloso:
Old 07-15-21, 12:59 AM
  #12  
tempocyclist
Senior Member
 
tempocyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 154

Bikes: 2002 Trek 5200 (US POSTAL), 2020 Canyon Aeroad SL

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked 135 Times in 63 Posts
Originally Posted by Andy Somnifac View Post
Or you could get a PowerTap hub and lace it to a rim of your choosing. That's my current power metering solution, so I definitely would prefer a pedal or spider-based system.

Can you even still buy PowerTap hubs?

I've got a PowerTap G3 that has always been solid, more bombproof than the wheel it's built into! Lacing one to a custom rim of your choice would be a solid option if you can find one.
tempocyclist is offline  
Old 07-15-21, 05:58 AM
  #13  
GhostRider62
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked 404 Times in 250 Posts
SRAM killed Powertap G3

It was probably the cheapest and most accurate PM, plus you get the benefit of a speed sensor

I have eyeballed the Rotor in-power cranks.
GhostRider62 is offline  
Old 07-15-21, 06:05 AM
  #14  
datlas 
Beyond Bogus
 
datlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Malvern, PA (20 miles West of Philly)
Posts: 35,724

Bikes: 1986 Alpine (steel road bike), 2009 Ti Habenero, 2013 Specialized Roubaix

Mentioned: 502 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15502 Post(s)
Liked 3,476 Times in 1,734 Posts
I "get" that you don't want a pedal-based system based on your previous experience. That said, many of my friends have Assioma pedals are positively LOVE them. That goes for single and double sided.

If you are positive you don't want a pedal system and are on a budget, get a 4iiii or Stages single-sided crank that is compatible with your current setup.
__________________
Originally Posted by rjones28 View Post
Addiction is all about class.
datlas is offline  
Old 07-16-21, 02:26 PM
  #15  
Andy Somnifac 
Shut up legs.
 
Andy Somnifac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,258

Bikes: Too many.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked 142 Times in 70 Posts
Originally Posted by tempocyclist View Post
Can you even still buy PowerTap hubs?

I've got a PowerTap G3 that has always been solid, more bombproof than the wheel it's built into! Lacing one to a custom rim of your choice would be a solid option if you can find one.
They're out there in used land. I'd assume that they are no longer available new. But when maintained properly they seem to be pretty bulletproof.
__________________


Andy Somnifac is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.