Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Advocacy & Safety
Reload this Page >

How to "Flow" with traffic, levels of assertiveness, and other questions

Notices
Advocacy & Safety Cyclists should expect and demand safe accommodation on every public road, just as do all other users. Discuss your bicycle advocacy and safety concerns here.

Old 09-18-21, 02:33 AM
Dr1v3n

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 5 Posts

I've been cycling for about 5 months now, and currently avg 75 miles per week.

I live in California near the beach. I really enjoy riding up the coast, but as you'd expect there's a ton of traffic in this area in general. I've always been a very alert person, and I've applied this to my cycling as well. Even in cars, I'm generally pretty good at predicting what other drivers are about to do. Frankly, I have a collection of "newbie riding in traffic" questions, and I'm just going to list them each below. Any guidance you offer would be appreciated. When I say "in traffic", I am generally referring to being on a paved road either in lanes with cars directly, OR on the side of the road in a bike lane.

1. Is it pretty normal to have to hit the brakes a lot more when riding in traffic?

I find that I end up hitting my brakes, for example on a hill when I am going over about 20-25mph if I see a driveway coming up with a car approaching, because I do not trust that the driver has seen me and will for sure stop. Another example is say there is a green traffic signal at the bottom of a super steep hill. I will often brake multiple times while going down the hill even if I wouldn't usually need to, because if the signal were to turn red before I got to the bottom, I would then have to try to slam my brakes on going 30-35mph or fly through oncoming traffic. Unfortunately, having to do this constantly when the roads are busy sorta kills the joy of the ride at times.