Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Your opinions on ebike transition to road bike

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Old 11-28-21, 07:28 PM
Defy Dene

Bikes: Roam E & Defy3

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 6 Posts

Greetings folks.
About 6 weeks ago it bought a size large Giant Roam E. I’m new to biking , 61, overweight with knee replacements in the future. I absolutely love the bike, losing weight like crazy and have zero knee issues going out for 40-50 km loops.
When it was new, I have found being a 50 pound bike it was necessary to always keep it in AUTO mode.
Now I have it on Eco, level one and find it easier to pedal each outing!
I want to eventually transition to a real bike and bought a size ML carbon Defy entry level Endurance bike. I opted for clipless MTB pedals and better rubber, (28mm Continental GP5000 tubeless).
Can you people speculate on how you think I’ll make out on small trips as far as fatigue and body adjustments would be etc? I’m worried that a 61 year old guy will find the new drop bar bike daunting and go back to the Cheater bike.
I pick it up after Christmas.
Thanks for any n all tips…..
Likes For Defy Dene:
Old 11-28-21, 07:38 PM
smashndash

Bikes: 2017 Specialized Allez Sprint Comp

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked 344 Times in 247 Posts
If you have easy enough gears and maintain the same power output, there will be almost no difference. but because you're used to ebike speeds, you'll probably destroy yourself on your first few rides.