Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

wanna get tubeless tire, goatheads are getting better of me

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-22, 01:53 PM
ggbo951a

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts

Each year during towrad end of summer and beginning of fall season, goathead appears to terrorize bikers. I had numerios run into last years but this year, i almost getting flat tire almost everytime time i ride. too lazy to fix myself and each time it is costing 10$ at rei to replace tube.

Once for all, i just wanna go for a tubeless, this will protect from goat head?
I am new to this, what are adv. (other than obvious one here) and disadv.-s compared to tubed tire?
Do i have to get entire tire. wheel?
I am thinking about just buying and replacing the whole wheel, what measurements I should look for to fit my bike? (entry level mountain from REI)
I am seeing following numbers on existing tire: 2.26. 27.5.
I would not consider REI, i am looking into places like amazon or big5, recomm-d brand on this?
Old 08-06-22, 02:10 PM
79pmooney

Bikes: (2) ti TiCycles, 2007 w/ triple and 2011 fixed, 1979 Peter Mooney, ~1983 Trek 420 now fixed and ~1973 Raleigh Carlton Competition gravel grinder

Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Quoted: 4802 Post(s)
Liked 3,922 Times in 2,551 Posts
Cycle Oregon's come up with a goathead solution that, while not perfect, makes life far better. In the early morning they send a street sweeper around the route. Few appreciate it because they didn't ride the nightmare a few years back that will haunt those mechanics the rest of their lives.