Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

09 Trek 1.2 - 700x28 tires.

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Old 01-31-21, 09:47 AM
opr917

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I got this 09 Trek 1.2 last year. it came with 700x25 tires so I bought 700x28, they fit, but the inner width of the rim is narrow and it was difficult to mount them specially around the stem - Rims are Alexrims AT450..
What size would you recommend me to buy for a better fit ? any special brand/ model? that is not very expensive?

About me - First post - I started riding again last year after quite a long time, I fractured my spine a while ago so I cant stand 100 psi but I can 80 on the 28's. Endurance frame with a 60 degree stem to make it a bit more comfortable. Rode 500 miles in the past 6 months so Im no racer.

Last edited by opr917; 01-31-21 at 10:02 AM.
Old 01-31-21, 11:17 AM
masi61

Bikes: Puch Marco Polo, Saint Tropez, Masi Gran Criterium

Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked 439 Times in 312 Posts
When you say you have difficulty mounting them around the stem what do you mean?
Old 01-31-21, 11:28 AM
opr917

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by masi61
When you say you have difficulty mounting them around the stem what do you mean?
Just that it was too tight around the stem- at the end I was able to mount the 700x28tires (with tubes), I went out for a ride around the block and they felt OK.
Should I worry that these are 13mm inner width ? I found a couple of posts in the forum that suggest 17mm - (thus the question to see if I should replace wheels).
Old 01-31-21, 11:57 AM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Quoted: 6099 Post(s)
Liked 4,730 Times in 3,260 Posts