Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Recumbent
Reload this Page >

Newby - My chain is slipping...not sure why

Search
Notices
Recumbent What IS that thing?! Recumbents may be odd looking, but they have many advantages over a "wedgie" bicycle. Discuss the in's and out's recumbent lifestyle in the recumbent forum.

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-11, 11:23 AM
KapnKaos

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello all, I'm very new to recumbent, I bought this one from a garage sale $175 and put another $100 in to it to get it what I would consider ready to ride. Because of my "newb" status...I may not really know what that is.

I rode it for about three months. The first couple of weeks was flawless, then the chain began to slip in the higher gears (harder to pedal) but not at all in the lower gears. After another month...maybe six weeks it's begun to slip in all gears. I've done some lurking in this forum and read many, many posts on chain slipping. I've also followed some links to external articles helping me learn more about taking care of the chain.

Is there anything that is inherent to recumbants in regards to chain slippage?
Old 03-17-11, 01:12 PM
cyclistbrian

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by KapnKaos
Hello all, I'm very new to recumbent, I bought this one from a garage sale $175 and put another $100 in to it to get it what I would consider ready to ride. Because of my "newb" status...I may not really know what that is.

I rode it for about three months. The first couple of weeks was flawless, then the chain began to slip in the higher gears (harder to pedal) but not at all in the lower gears. After another month...maybe six weeks it's begun to slip in all gears. I've done some lurking in this forum and read many, many posts on chain slipping. I've also followed some links to external articles helping me learn more about taking care of the chain.