Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Gravel to Road Bike Conversion

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Old 06-27-22, 12:24 PM
Peacewiz

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

need help with road bike conversion from gravel bike.

I purchased a Cannondale Topstone Carbon Ultra RX 2 before pandemic and spent lot of time on local trails but not very pleasant ride transitioning from stumpjumper full suspension bike. I recently met up with a group of cyclers in church on a 30 mile ride with my gravel bike but i was having difficult time keeping pace with them. I'm new to road cycling and need some guidance to upgrading for better speed. the current crank is 46/30 with 11-34 cassette. I swapped out the tires to Pirelli Zero Velo 4s.

or should I just build a new setup for road?

Thanks in advance~
Old 06-27-22, 12:42 PM
ThermionicScott 
working on my sandal tan

Bikes: 1991 Bianchi Eros, 1964 Armstrong, 1988 Diamondback Ascent, 1988 Bianchi Premio, 1987 Bianchi Sport SX, 1980s Raleigh mixte (hers), All-City Space Horse (hers)

Mentioned: 98 Post(s)
Quoted: 3870 Post(s)
Liked 2,563 Times in 1,577 Posts
Welcome to BikeForums. You have both higher and lower gears available than bike race winners of the past, so your drivetrain is not what's holding you back. It's normal to have trouble keeping up with the experienced groups when you're just getting into cycling, so I'd make sure your fit is good and give it some time.
People in this forum are not typical.
RUSA #7498
Likes For ThermionicScott:
Old 06-27-22, 12:50 PM
Peacewiz

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post