Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Surly LHT - groupset upgrade - help!

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Old 05-18-22, 12:59 PM
Bes Boydie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi - I have a Surly LHT with 26" wheels, flat bars and v brakes. I use it for commuting and general knocking-about, some hills (nothing mountainous) but very little 'proper' touring.

I'm very fond of the bike but in truth the groupset is horrible. So I'm looking to upgrade it and have about £750 ($900) max to spend. I'm a complete novice so does anyone have any recommendations?

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Thx
Old 05-18-22, 01:05 PM
Koyote

Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Quoted: 6881 Post(s)
Liked 10,871 Times in 4,636 Posts
You might want to tell us what groupset is on the bike, and why you find it "horrible." Then we can give recommendations.
Likes For Koyote:
Old 05-18-22, 02:11 PM
Bes Boydie

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi Koyote,

it has a Deore LX rear derailleur, shimano v-brake shift/brake levers and the rest of the components are no-name.

It works perfectly ok but feels pretty cheap ‘n’ nasty. I also think I could probably get by with fewer gears (it has 9 x 3) for the type of cycling I do.
Old 05-18-22, 04:29 PM
Koyote

Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Quoted: 6881 Post(s)
Liked 10,871 Times in 4,636 Posts
Originally Posted by Bes Boydie
Hi Koyote,

it has a Deore LX rear derailleur, shimano v-brake shift/brake levers and the rest of the components are no-name.

It works perfectly ok but feels pretty cheap ‘n’ nasty. I also think I could probably get by with fewer gears (it has 9 x 3) for the type of cycling I do.