Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Garmin Edge Explore Unboxed, now what?

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Garmin Edge Explore Unboxed, now what?

Old 06-02-21, 01:23 PM
  #1  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Garmin Edge Explore Unboxed, now what?


I did a Garmin Edge Explore GPS unboxing, however, the old man still has questions. When I tried to used route navigation, I’m not getting audio directions, nor do I hear a signal when I need to turn. If I stopped riding briefly (potty break, water break, etc), I always get a message, “…the current language is not supported by your phone…” I always have to hit the check mark to continue, can I prevent this from happening? Also can I add a time of day to map page when riding? Any thoughts/suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Last edited by dhender02; 06-02-21 at 01:27 PM.
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 01:24 PM
  #2  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 6,751

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel, Specialized Epic Evo

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3142 Post(s)
Liked 1,971 Times in 1,127 Posts
What is this ?
Steve B. is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 01:25 PM
  #3  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
I did a Garmin Edge Explore GPS unboxing, however, the old man still has questions. When I tried to used route navigation, I’m not getting audio directions, nor do I hear a signal when I need to turn. If I stopped riding briefly (potty break, water break, etc), I always get a message, “…the current language is not supported by your phone…” I always have to hit the check mark to continue, can I prevent this from happening? Also can I add a time of day to map page when riding? Any thoughts/suggestions are greatly appreciated.
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 01:26 PM
  #4  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by Steve B.
What is this ?
First time posting video, I hit submit before I got to post text... I did a Garmin Edge Explore GPS unboxing, however, the old man still has questions. When I tried to used route navigation, I’m not getting audio directions, nor do I hear a signal when I need to turn. If I stopped riding briefly (potty break, water break, etc), I always get a message, “…the current language is not supported by your phone…” I always have to hit the check mark to continue, can I prevent this from happening? Also can I add a time of day to map page when riding? Any thoughts/suggestions are greatly appreciated.
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 01:33 PM
  #5  
WhyFi
Senior Member
 
WhyFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: TC, MN
Posts: 39,505

Bikes: R3 Disc, Haanjo

Mentioned: 353 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20791 Post(s)
Liked 9,435 Times in 4,663 Posts
So, if I understand you right, you did a Garmin Edge Explore GPS unboxing, but you still have some questions?
WhyFi is offline  
Likes For WhyFi:
Old 06-02-21, 01:37 PM
  #6  
WhyFi
Senior Member
 
WhyFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: TC, MN
Posts: 39,505

Bikes: R3 Disc, Haanjo

Mentioned: 353 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20791 Post(s)
Liked 9,435 Times in 4,663 Posts


Okay, not sure if it's the same on all Garmin devices, but on my 530, for audible TbT directions, I need to have some blue tooth earbuds connected to my phone and my phone connected to the Garmin. I've also found that, if I turn off my earbuds after I've started a route, my phone speaker will take over with announcing the turns. Not sure if this is a feature or a bug, or if there's an official way to get the phone's speaker to announce.
WhyFi is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 01:38 PM
  #7  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 6,751

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel, Specialized Epic Evo

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3142 Post(s)
Liked 1,971 Times in 1,127 Posts
The device should beep for your turn by turn (if the Explore has beep). You might be able to get voice commands via BlueTooth to a phone, means you have to have the phone where you can hear it, or cobble together some BT headphones as well, Ive never done this,
Steve B. is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 02:09 PM
  #8  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Yep... No instructions, so how do I get audio on navigation?
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 02:11 PM
  #9  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by WhyFi


Okay, not sure if it's the same on all Garmin devices, but on my 530, for audible TbT directions, I need to have some blue tooth earbuds connected to my phone and my phone connected to the Garmin. I've also found that, if I turn off my earbuds after I've started a route, my phone speaker will take over with announcing the turns. Not sure if this is a feature or a bug, or if there's an official way to get the phone's speaker to announce.
Do I need to turn any setting on? I used to ride with the Strava app on my phone, I had no problems hearing the direction with my phone's speaker, so it's not an phone issue. I don't think the audio navigation prompts are happening...
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 02:14 PM
  #10  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by Steve B.
The device should beep for your turn by turn (if the Explore has beep). You might be able to get voice commands via BlueTooth to a phone, means you have to have the phone where you can hear it, or cobble together some BT headphones as well, Ive never done this,
I normally keep my phone in my jersey back pocket. When I used the Strava app on my phone I hear the prompts fine from the back pocket. The Garmin is syncing with my phone, because text messages appears on my Garmin if I receive one while riding. When I finish my ride, it's goes to Strava immediately.. I think I'm missing a setting or something...
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 02:15 PM
  #11  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by WhyFi
So, if I understand you right, you did a Garmin Edge Explore GPS unboxing, but you still have some questions?
Correct. Voice audio prompts and I keep getting an error message about language not supported....
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 02:23 PM
  #12  
redcon1
Senior Member
 
redcon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Central PA
Posts: 549

Bikes: Focus Arriba, Specialized Roubaix Expert, Bianchi Impulso Allroad

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked 82 Times in 53 Posts
You need to have it connected via the Gamin Connect App to your phone. My Edge Explore works though the setting in Connect on my phone using: Activity Options - Audio Prompts - Navigation Alerts "on"
This should work via BT headphones or thru the phone's speaker. If you are getting a language message you must not have updated the language files on the Edge?

As for the display screens, you can add up to 2 data fields (including time of day) to the map screen. Do a Google or YouTube search for Gamin Edge Explore and it should held quite a bit in setting up and using the device.
redcon1 is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 02:33 PM
  #13  
njkayaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Far beyond the pale horizon.
Posts: 14,218
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4211 Post(s)
Liked 1,302 Times in 903 Posts
Originally Posted by dhender02
Correct. Voice audio prompts and I keep getting an error message about language not supported....
The error message shows up where?
What phone are you using?

I don't think the language setting for the Explore matters but you should verify that it's English.
njkayaker is online now  
Old 06-02-21, 02:41 PM
  #14  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by njkayaker
The error message shows up where?
What phone are you using?

I don't think the language setting for the Explore matters but you should verify that it's English.
If I stop for over 2 minutes or so, the screen goes to sleep. When I start back up, I get a message on my screen that says “…the current language is not supported by your phone…” with the green check mark underneath. I just hit green check board, the continues on to the screen I was on when I stopped...
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 02:42 PM
  #15  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by redcon1
You need to have it connected via the Gamin Connect App to your phone. My Edge Explore works though the setting in Connect on my phone using: Activity Options - Audio Prompts - Navigation Alerts "on"
This should work via BT headphones or thru the phone's speaker. If you are getting a language message you must not have updated the language files on the Edge?

As for the display screens, you can add up to 2 data fields (including time of day) to the map screen. Do a Google or YouTube search for Gamin Edge Explore and it should held quite a bit in setting up and using the device.
Thanks, I give this try later this evening!!!
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-02-21, 02:42 PM
  #16  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by njkayaker
The error message shows up where?
What phone are you using?

I don't think the language setting for the Explore matters but you should verify that it's English.
Google Pixel 4..
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-03-21, 04:37 PM
  #17  
philbob57
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chicago North Shore
Posts: 2,329

Bikes: frankenbike based on MKM frame

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked 601 Times in 370 Posts
Does Garmin provide support?
philbob57 is offline  
Old 06-03-21, 05:29 PM
  #18  
shelbyfv
Expired Member
 
shelbyfv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 11,424
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3626 Post(s)
Liked 5,286 Times in 2,685 Posts
https://www8.garmin.com/manuals/webh...0_OM_EN-US.pdf
shelbyfv is offline  
Old 06-03-21, 06:30 PM
  #19  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 6,751

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel, Specialized Epic Evo

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3142 Post(s)
Liked 1,971 Times in 1,127 Posts
So basically you just purchased a technically complicated $250 computer and will now be using this forum and post as an on-line tutorial ?. Thats kind of tiring. The expression we use at work is ""RTFM", with Read The Manual being 3 of those words.
Steve B. is offline  
Old 06-03-21, 07:07 PM
  #20  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by Steve B.
So basically you just purchased a technically complicated $250 computer and will now be using this forum and post as an on-line tutorial ?. Thats kind of tiring. The expression we use at work is ""RTFM", with Read The Manual being 3 of those words.
Interesting comment, especially when I said instructions weren't in the manual. As usual, the community here in bike forums never siezes to help. Thank you for your helpful insight.
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-03-21, 07:17 PM
  #21  
Troul 
Senior Member
 
Troul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mich
Posts: 7,222

Bikes: RSO E-tire dropper fixie brifter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 2,881 Times in 1,863 Posts
https://www8.garmin.com/manuals/webh...0_OM_EN-US.pdf
__________________
-Oh Hey!
Troul is offline  
Likes For Troul:
Old 06-03-21, 07:18 PM
  #22  
njkayaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Far beyond the pale horizon.
Posts: 14,218
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4211 Post(s)
Liked 1,302 Times in 903 Posts
Originally Posted by dhender02
If I stop for over 2 minutes or so, the screen goes to sleep. When I start back up, I get a message on my screen that says “…the current language is not supported by your phone…” with the green check mark underneath. I just hit green check board, the continues on to the screen I was on when I stopped...
I wonder if the issue is with the phone. It seems it stops running Connect.

I tried the voice announcements with a 1030+ on an iPhone and it worked without any problems.
njkayaker is online now  
Old 06-03-21, 07:20 PM
  #23  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Thanks TROUL for the link, PERFECT!!
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-03-21, 07:21 PM
  #24  
dhender02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dhender02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lederach, PA
Posts: 273

Bikes: Felt Z85 & Trek 7.3FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by njkayaker
I wonder if the issue is with the phone. It seems it stops running Connect.

I tried the voice announcements with a 1030+ on an iPhone and it worked without any problems.
When I did a Google search on the error message others have the same problem however I didn't see a fix for it...
dhender02 is offline  
Old 06-03-21, 07:24 PM
  #25  
Troul 
Senior Member
 
Troul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mich
Posts: 7,222

Bikes: RSO E-tire dropper fixie brifter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 2,881 Times in 1,863 Posts
Originally Posted by dhender02
Thanks TROUL for the link, PERFECT!!
I think pdf page 4 is what you're after.
__________________
-Oh Hey!
Troul is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.