Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Anyone Use a Wahoo RPM Cadence Sensor Attached to Shoe?

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Anyone Use a Wahoo RPM Cadence Sensor Attached to Shoe?

Old 12-11-18, 03:15 PM
  #1  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,782

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6839 Post(s)
Liked 718 Times in 453 Posts
Anyone Use a Wahoo RPM Cadence Sensor Attached to Shoe?

Anyone use a Wahoo RPM cadence sensor attached to a cycling shoe?

Will it work that way?


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 12-11-18, 03:20 PM
  #2  
Sal Bandini
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 243

Bikes: 2017 Sirrus Sport

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
I do and it works fine.

EDIT: Not a cycling shoe but it will still work fine.
Sal Bandini is offline  
Old 12-11-18, 03:29 PM
  #3  
surak
Senior Member
 
surak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,703

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix, Canyon Inflite AL SLX, Priority Continuum Onyx, Santana Vision, Kent Dual-Drive Tandem

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked 597 Times in 344 Posts
I did until I got a PM that reported cadence. The sensor pod comes with a mount especially to go between a strap or laces, but it'll work pretty much anywhere that revolves with a pedal stroke. DC Rainmaker noticed that it'll work if you tuck it into a gym shoe, which I've verified on a stationary bike.
surak is offline  
Old 12-11-18, 03:52 PM
  #4  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,782

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6839 Post(s)
Liked 718 Times in 453 Posts
Cool. I'll try it.

I have an RPM sensor but my fixed gear bike has almost zero clearance between crank arm and chainstay.

I've tried every possible position for the sensor - inside the crank spider, etc. It just won't fit anywhere and mounting it to my shoe is a last resort before I go for a magnet based sensor.


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 12-11-18, 04:13 PM
  #5  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
I thought i would take it outside and not just on the trainer, so I figured the shoe was the best place. Have it hooked to the boa wire. It works fine there.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 12-12-18, 06:48 AM
  #6  
zacster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 7,363

Bikes: Kuota Kredo/Chorus, Trek 7000 commuter, Trek 8000 MTB and a few others

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked 311 Times in 244 Posts
I used mine in my shoe until I got an Assioma power meter for my road bike, at which point I semi-permanently mounted the sensor to the crank arm of my commuter bike. The only thing I have to swap around now is the Bolt computer itself which is an easy twist on/off. When using on the shoe laces you need to orient it forward/backward not left/right, or try DC Rainmaker's method.
zacster is offline  
Old 12-12-18, 01:28 PM
  #7  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,782

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6839 Post(s)
Liked 718 Times in 453 Posts
Originally Posted by zacster View Post
When using on the shoe laces you need to orient it forward/backward not left/right, or try DC Rainmaker's method.
Thank you for this.

I can't find the little plastic doohicky which allows mounting to the shoe.

-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 12-12-18, 06:40 PM
  #8  
Reynolds 531
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reno nevada
Posts: 492

Bikes: 4 Old school BMX, 6 Klunkers, 5 29er race bikes, 4 restored Sting Rays, Now 3 vintage steel bike being built up

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked 70 Times in 43 Posts


I made my own bracket out of stainless welding rod. I can switch between cyclocross shoes, spin shoes and others (just as long as I remember to)
Reynolds 531 is offline  
Old 12-13-18, 11:56 AM
  #9  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,782

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6839 Post(s)
Liked 718 Times in 453 Posts
Thanks for the photo.

Pretty good. Gives me some ideas.
TimothyH is offline  
Old 12-13-18, 12:13 PM
  #10  
Sal Bandini
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 243

Bikes: 2017 Sirrus Sport

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
https://www.wahoofitness.com/devices...-cadence-mount
Sal Bandini is offline  
Old 12-18-18, 01:08 PM
  #11  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,782

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6839 Post(s)
Liked 718 Times in 453 Posts
It isn't working well.

Cadence readings are low, about 40% lower than they should be. Frequent dropouts as well - cadence falls to zero when I'm clearly pedaling.

Not sure what the issue is but it doesn't seem to work too well for me.


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 12-18-18, 02:21 PM
  #12  
zacster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 7,363

Bikes: Kuota Kredo/Chorus, Trek 7000 commuter, Trek 8000 MTB and a few others

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked 311 Times in 244 Posts
Two things come to mind. First, is the battery good? That is a common complaint with these. Second, did you mount it forward/back vs. side to side as I suggested? I see in the pic (not yours) that it is mounted side to side, which didn't work for me.

And what computer are you using? It could be a weak receiver too. Is it a cycling specific one? Or a phone? Connecting via Blutooth or ANT+? I find ANT+ to be much more reliable.
zacster is offline  
Old 12-18-18, 02:49 PM
  #13  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
wahoo seems to think that wifi messes up the transmission, so that's something to think about.

Does the wahoo app report battery strength? Trainerroad does.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 12-18-18, 02:54 PM
  #14  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,782

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6839 Post(s)
Liked 718 Times in 453 Posts
Originally Posted by zacster View Post
Second, did you mount it forward/back vs. side to side as I suggested?
Wait a minute...

Um....



I even thanked you for telling me that.

Can I blame this on the mechanics at the LBS?

Tell me which way it goes one more time, just to be sure it sticks.


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 12-18-18, 03:06 PM
  #15  
Marcus_Ti 
FLIR Kitten to 0.05C
 
Marcus_Ti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 5,331

Bikes: Roadie: Seven Axiom Race Ti w/Chorus 11s. CX/Adventure: Carver Gravel Grinder w/ Di2

Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2349 Post(s)
Liked 405 Times in 254 Posts
Originally Posted by TimothyH View Post
It isn't working well.

Cadence readings are low, about 40% lower than they should be. Frequent dropouts as well - cadence falls to zero when I'm clearly pedaling.

Not sure what the issue is but it doesn't seem to work too well for me.


-Tim-
Flaky readouts I usually fix right away with a new battery cell.

The sucky thing about shoe mounting...is that if you're a tourist or walking around camp--you're going to keep eating battery with every step
Marcus_Ti is offline  
Old 12-18-18, 07:56 PM
  #16  
zacster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 7,363

Bikes: Kuota Kredo/Chorus, Trek 7000 commuter, Trek 8000 MTB and a few others

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked 311 Times in 244 Posts

The way the video's still appears is actually the wrong way, but the video does show it correctly.
zacster is offline  
Likes For zacster:
Old 11-29-21, 05:45 PM
  #17  
jaxgtr
Senior Member
 
jaxgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 5,792

Bikes: Trek Domane SLR 7, Trek Emonda ALR 6, Trek FX 5 Sport

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked 819 Times in 498 Posts
Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
I thought i would take it outside and not just on the trainer, so I figured the shoe was the best place. Have it hooked to the boa wire. It works fine there.

Hey there, I just ordered these sensors as I am tired of the up and down connection of the Bontrager Duotrap, but I have boa wire and no velcro straps on my shoes, how do you hook it to your wires? Did you run some velcro around the wire? I thought about running it though my road id ankle strap as well. But looking for idea's versus reverting to an old pair of shoes.
__________________
Brian | 2021 Trek Domane SLR 7 | 2016 Trek Emonda ALR 6 | 2022 Trek FX Sport 5 (On Order)
Originally Posted by AEO View Post
you should learn to embrace change, and mock it's failings every step of the way.







jaxgtr is offline  
Old 12-03-21, 08:49 AM
  #18  
jaxgtr
Senior Member
 
jaxgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 5,792

Bikes: Trek Domane SLR 7, Trek Emonda ALR 6, Trek FX 5 Sport

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked 819 Times in 498 Posts
Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
I thought i would take it outside and not just on the trainer, so I figured the shoe was the best place. Have it hooked to the boa wire. It works fine there.
Originally Posted by jaxgtr View Post
Hey there, I just ordered these sensors as I am tired of the up and down connection of the Bontrager Duotrap, but I have boa wire and no velcro straps on my shoes, how do you hook it to your wires? Did you run some velcro around the wire? I thought about running it though my road id ankle strap as well. But looking for idea's versus reverting to an old pair of shoes.
Got the product and got it attached pretty simply,
__________________
Brian | 2021 Trek Domane SLR 7 | 2016 Trek Emonda ALR 6 | 2022 Trek FX Sport 5 (On Order)
Originally Posted by AEO View Post
you should learn to embrace change, and mock it's failings every step of the way.







jaxgtr is offline  
Old 12-04-21, 06:20 AM
  #19  
Fendertele
Senior Member
 
Fendertele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 116

Bikes: Trek Domane SL5

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked 33 Times in 21 Posts
I didn’t have enough clearance on the crank arm and find the shoe mount works well. Especially since I use the shoes with several bikes.
Fendertele is offline  
Old 12-05-21, 10:35 AM
  #20  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
Originally Posted by jaxgtr View Post
Got the product and got it attached pretty simply,
Sorry I didn't see your question previously. I have it so it flaps, I suppose I could have done a better job. But usually when I'm pedaling fast enough for it to flap I'm not paying attention to my shoe.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 12-05-21, 01:14 PM
  #21  
jaxgtr
Senior Member
 
jaxgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 5,792

Bikes: Trek Domane SLR 7, Trek Emonda ALR 6, Trek FX 5 Sport

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked 819 Times in 498 Posts
Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
Sorry I didn't see your question previously. I have it so it flaps, I suppose I could have done a better job. But usually when I'm pedaling fast enough for it to flap I'm not paying attention to my shoe.
No problem....I got it looped on mine as such and it really secure. I also use it with several bikes....

__________________
Brian | 2021 Trek Domane SLR 7 | 2016 Trek Emonda ALR 6 | 2022 Trek FX Sport 5 (On Order)
Originally Posted by AEO View Post
you should learn to embrace change, and mock it's failings every step of the way.







jaxgtr is offline  
Old 12-08-21, 02:34 PM
  #22  
noglider 
aka Tom Reingold
 
noglider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 40,125

Bikes: 1962 Rudge Sports, 1971 Raleigh Super Course, 1971 Raleigh Pro Track, 1974 Raleigh International, 1975 Viscount Fixie, 1982 McLean, 1996 Lemond (Ti), 2002 Burley Zydeco tandem

Mentioned: 492 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6989 Post(s)
Liked 1,707 Times in 1,061 Posts
What a great idea! I have a XOSS sensor that has an internal accelerometer, so it should work. I'll try it!
__________________
Tom Reingold, tom@noglider.com
New York City and High Falls, NY
Blogs: The Experienced Cyclist; noglider's ride blog

“When man invented the bicycle he reached the peak of his attainments.” — Elizabeth West, US author

Please email me rather than PM'ing me. Thanks.
noglider is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Metaluna
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
7
07-07-17 07:38 AM
TimothyH
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
0
09-28-16 08:05 PM
Fullcount
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
0
07-21-16 10:07 PM
LloydXmas
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
13
12-16-15 10:00 AM
mattkime
Bicycle Mechanics
0
07-22-12 06:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.