Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Wahoo Kickr Circuit Board Repair

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Wahoo Kickr Circuit Board Repair

Old 09-18-20, 11:17 AM
  #26  
mjb1970a
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I see someone else had a similar issue
mjb1970a is offline  
Old 09-18-20, 11:19 AM
  #27  
mjb1970a
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi gsa. Any tips on how to get into the PCB?
mjb1970a is offline  
Old 09-18-20, 12:06 PM
  #28  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
Originally Posted by mjb1970a View Post
Iím searching for advice on a 2019 kickr core and realise that if i want to ask and questions Iíll need to make a few posts first.
asking questions doesn't require posts. If you want to post a picture, then put it in your gallery and I'll rescue it for you.

I would like to know where this circuit board is, don't want to have to probe around.

I want to see if I can put a better antenna on it.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 09-18-20, 12:43 PM
  #29  
gsa103
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,401

Bikes: Bianchi Infinito (Celeste, of course)

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked 103 Times in 76 Posts
Originally Posted by mjb1970a View Post
Hi gsa. Any tips on how to get into the PCB?
No idea, I don't have one of those trainers.
gsa103 is offline  
Old 09-22-20, 01:46 AM
  #30  
mjb1970a
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Pcb fail

So I've managed to get into the Core. Does anyone know which bit fails when the pcb goes? I'm hoping to get it repaired as wahoo aren't being as helpful as I'd hoped. My ideal solution would be me buying a new pcb but I can't locate one. I can't post the photo until I've made a few more
mjb1970a is offline  
Old 09-22-20, 01:46 AM
  #31  
mjb1970a
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mjb1970a View Post
So I've managed to get into the Core. Does anyone know which bit fails when the pcb goes? I'm hoping to get it repaired as wahoo aren't being as helpful as I'd hoped. My ideal solution would be me buying a new pcb but I can't locate one. I can't post the photo until I've made a few more
Posts
mjb1970a is offline  
Old 09-22-20, 10:49 AM
  #32  
bikebikebike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 453

Bikes: Downtube IX NS&FS, Dahon Speed8Pro/Matrix/Curve, Brom S2L,Montague Para, ICE-XL w/Rollie/Schlumpf, Trident Spike, ebikes, BFSatRDay

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked 74 Times in 64 Posts
Does Wahoo sell the circuit boards as part of support?
Board failures from static etc were warrantied and they were pretty good about support
and appeared to iron out early problems in later models
I was looking at used ones, and the ability to repair reasonably is as good as a warrantee for me.
Achooly better. I love the smell of flux in the morning.


Out of curiosity, anyone have links to teardowns or wiring diagrams a trainers?
Ive seen repair vids for the Wahoo online for other issues.

Last edited by bikebikebike; 09-22-20 at 10:53 AM.
bikebikebike is offline  
Old 09-22-20, 05:42 PM
  #33  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
My understanding is they don't have boards for repair of the original, can't get any, and they offer you a discount on a refurb. Hopefully I don't have to find out if that's true or not.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 09-22-20, 05:43 PM
  #34  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
Originally Posted by mjb1970a View Post
So I've managed to get into the Core. Does anyone know which bit fails when the pcb goes? I'm hoping to get it repaired as wahoo aren't being as helpful as I'd hoped. My ideal solution would be me buying a new pcb but I can't locate one. I can't post the photo until I've made a few more
put it in your gallery and I will post it for you
unterhausen is offline  
Old 03-02-21, 06:49 AM
  #35  
Cturrin1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
I probably have the same trainer, can you take a picture of what I have to take off? Looks like that might be part of the braking circuit, which suggests a power transistor
Originally Posted by gsa103 View Post
Look at the voltages on the power supply. If the old trainer had a 24V power supply and the Kickr uses 12V that could definitely fry the circuit board.
do you know how to repair the circuit board if the wrong power supply was plugged in? Iíd post a picture but looks like I canít.
Cturrin1 is offline  
Old 03-02-21, 07:42 AM
  #36  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
You can upload pictures to an album in your gallery and we can rescue them for you.

I have never heard of a repair for this, but I imagine it's possible if it doesn't blow the microprocessor.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 03-02-21, 09:18 AM
  #37  
Cturrin1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Uploaded pictures

Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
You can upload pictures to an album in your gallery and we can rescue them for you.

I have never heard of a repair for this, but I imagine it's possible if it doesn't blow the microprocessor.

I added some pictures in my album. If I need to do something else please let me know. This is my first time to post here and Iím new to this. Also if this helps: When the board is plugged in the kickr doesnít work. But the circuit board still gets power. The brake engages but nothing lights up. It may be the main box on the board but it could be some other part and don't know where to locate parts. I accidentally plugged in the wrong power cord and wrong voltage.
Thx again for any help.

Last edited by Cturrin1; 03-02-21 at 09:21 AM.
Cturrin1 is offline  
Likes For Cturrin1:
Old 03-02-21, 05:44 PM
  #38  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
Unfortunately, it says there are no uploads in your albums or photos. You have to select the pics, it looks like they should be uploaded, but there is an upload button on the upper right side that completes the action.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 03-02-21, 07:13 PM
  #39  
Cturrin1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Pictures

OK I think I uploaded them. I appreciate your patience with my tech challenges. there should be six pictures of my circuitboard. I tried uploading here but I donít have 10 posts yet
Cturrin1 is offline  
Likes For Cturrin1:
Old 03-03-21, 06:39 AM
  #40  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
Looks good.





unterhausen is offline  
Old 03-03-21, 06:47 AM
  #41  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
Okay, you have to love FCC test reports. There is also a users manual for the radio module
That board has test points all over it, so you should be able to get a good idea of the state of the power supply.
The module itself is mostly a nRF52832 in a shielding box.
https://www.google.com/search?q=gems...hrome&ie=UTF-8
unterhausen is offline  
Likes For unterhausen:
Old 03-03-21, 08:04 AM
  #42  
Cturrin1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Fix

Thatís amazing information. Thank you. I canít tell you how much time Iíve spent searching for information. I wish I understood it. Lol. Do you know anyone that could fix it?
Cturrin1 is offline  
Likes For Cturrin1:
Old 03-03-21, 11:54 AM
  #43  
gsa103
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,401

Bikes: Bianchi Infinito (Celeste, of course)

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked 103 Times in 76 Posts
Originally Posted by Cturrin1 View Post
do you know how to repair the circuit board if the wrong power supply was plugged in? Iíd post a picture but looks like I canít.
Most of the time it'll fry the voltage regulator, and hard to say what else after that. The voltage regulator is probably U5, but I can't read the label on it to confirm. I'd say it's 50/50 as to if it's fixable. At a minimum, it's a fair amount of following traces and SMT re-work.
If the voltage regulator fails open, it probably put 24V on the main controller chip, which would definitely kill it. That's a replaceable module, but there's no way for anyone (other than Wahoo) to program it.
I personally have a full SMT re-work station, but it would take me some time to trace the circuit. Then ordering replacement components and hoping the original event didn't fry the microcontroller. Best case it's several hours and you get it working.

Your best bet is going through Wahoo, who probably want you to send the entire trainer in. Which makes sense from their perspective, that way they send you a fully functional trainer.
gsa103 is offline  
Old 03-03-21, 12:05 PM
  #44  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
I think wahoo can repair everything but the version 1 kickr. This doesn't look like a V1. Okay, it's not, I can see the handle in one of the pictures.

And get rid of that other power supply

The power regulator is U3, it's an MC33275- something (3.3v)
MC33275DT−3.3RKG
Didn't see an absolute max input voltage, they just say input voltage is 13vdc

https://www.onsemi.com/pdf/datasheet/mc33275-d.pdf

I always wondered if it would help to replace that chip antenna with an external antenna. Doesn't look particularly easy

The module manual says how to upload firmware via a couple of pins. Getting it from wahoo would be a bit of a hassle, but they let you download it. https://fccid.io/PADWF116/User-Manua...Manual-3085164

Last edited by unterhausen; 03-03-21 at 12:36 PM.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 03-03-21, 01:18 PM
  #45  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
Interestingly, the OP was wrong, VNH21 identifies his mosfet just fine. It's one of these https://www.onsemi.com/pdf/datasheet/ntd4810n-d.pdf

Interestingly they seem to have switched from an N channel to a P channel between these two boards.

Last edited by unterhausen; 03-03-21 at 01:21 PM.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 03-03-21, 03:27 PM
  #46  
Cturrin1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Thanks

Iíll see if I can decipher through this foreign language of information that has been given to me. I am not a mechanically inclined person so much of whatís in the manual doesnít make much sense. I also reached out to Wahoo. I appreciate the feedback and the knowledge thatís been sent my way in such a short period of time.
Cturrin1 is offline  
Old 03-03-21, 03:51 PM
  #47  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
I think the best thing to do is go through wahoo. If that doesn't work out U3 is available. Not sure where you are going to find someone that can desolder/solder that on the board though. They are all around us, but hard to identify. I assume that is blown. As gsa103 said, it's possible it blew as a short, which would be bad because the whole board would have been exposed to high voltage. Let's hope it blew open circuit and was the only thing that died.

It costs 90 cents from Digikey https://www.digikey.com/en/products/...-3-3RKG/920890
unterhausen is offline  
Old 03-03-21, 08:02 PM
  #48  
Cturrin1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
If you can fix Iíll ship it to you. 😬
Cturrin1 is offline  
Old 07-18-21, 05:55 PM
  #49  
aceaminolab
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1

Bikes: Cervelo S5

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Have you replaced the damaged N-channel mosfet?Is this the only logic board for Kickr?

Last edited by aceaminolab; 07-18-21 at 05:58 PM.
aceaminolab is offline  
Old 07-18-21, 06:01 PM
  #50  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 2,093 Times in 1,491 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Hopefully Wahoo got him sorted. Someday I'm afraid I'm going to have to start a kickr V1 support group.
unterhausen is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.