Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

3D Printed Accessories / Mounts

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

3D Printed Accessories / Mounts

Old 08-28-15, 06:53 AM
  #126  
JonnyHK 
Senior Member
 
JonnyHK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,421

Bikes: Baum Romano, Brompton S2, Homemade Bamboo!

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked 200 Times in 127 Posts
If camera mounts from top then l may need to move saddle bag (edit: just noticed that my saddle bag is on backwards!).

Pretty sure that this would be fine for a conventional gopro or a Virb.

Some deeper cameras (mounted vertically - Sony?) might have a problem with the bottom corner against a saddle bag.

Last edited by JonnyHK; 08-28-15 at 07:17 AM.
JonnyHK is offline  
Old 08-28-15, 10:43 AM
  #127  
SixPackABS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by WheresWaldo View Post
@SixPackABS I was able to have an email conversation with the guy that posted the video. I made changes to the ION mount based on those conversations. Shapeways customer service is very good and he was able to have them replace the mount with the revised one. I hadn't heard from him since that time. It was modified so that all side to side and up and down movement was eliminated.

@JonnyHK What happens if the camera mounts from the top?


Just ordered one unit. Excited to try it with some gopro mounts. Any plans of gopole like helmet arm extension?
SixPackABS is offline  
Old 08-28-15, 11:40 AM
  #128  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
Thread Starter
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,970

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Originally Posted by JonnyHK View Post
If camera mounts from top then l may need to move saddle bag (edit: just noticed that my saddle bag is on backwards!).

Pretty sure that this would be fine for a conventional gopro or a Virb.

Some deeper cameras (mounted vertically - Sony?) might have a problem with the bottom corner against a saddle bag.
Since I don't own any Fizik saddles, I have one last question. Does that clip come with the saddle or do you have to buy the Cateye light to get it?
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  
Old 08-29-15, 12:33 AM
  #129  
JonnyHK 
Senior Member
 
JonnyHK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,421

Bikes: Baum Romano, Brompton S2, Homemade Bamboo!

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked 200 Times in 127 Posts
The mount is a cateye part, either with a light or as a standalone spare part.
JonnyHK is offline  
Old 09-01-15, 11:11 AM
  #130  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
Thread Starter
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,970

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 15 Posts
I may have to order one, I have some ideas about mounting the Garmin Virb with it. I see the brackets come as a set, one long and one short. $15.00 shipped from Jenson USA.
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  
Old 09-03-15, 08:12 AM
  #131  
SixPackABS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
can't wait to get hold of my
[h=1]Ion Air CamLOCK Direct GoPro Mount[/h]
SixPackABS is offline  
Old 09-03-15, 10:05 AM
  #132  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
Thread Starter
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,970

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Very cool, let me know how it works as I don't own an ION AIR.
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  
Old 09-04-15, 05:56 PM
  #133  
BeastBikes
Junior Member
 
BeastBikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes, I don't own a ION AIR and would love to hear how well it performs.
BeastBikes is offline  
Old 09-05-15, 08:46 AM
  #134  
SixPackABS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do you have a
K-EDGE Garmin/Gopro mounting?

Last edited by SixPackABS; 09-06-15 at 02:30 AM.
SixPackABS is offline  
Old 09-06-15, 08:28 AM
  #135  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
Thread Starter
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,970

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Originally Posted by SixPackABS View Post
Do you have a
K-EDGE Garmin/Gopro mounting?
K-Edge already has a GoPro adapter, I can't make it any better than they do. K-EDGE Combo Mount Interface - Garmin Computer + Action Camera Combo Mounts - K-EDGE Camera Mounts
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  
Old 09-06-15, 09:36 PM
  #136  
JonnyHK 
Senior Member
 
JonnyHK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,421

Bikes: Baum Romano, Brompton S2, Homemade Bamboo!

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked 200 Times in 127 Posts
Originally Posted by WheresWaldo View Post
I may have to order one, I have some ideas about mounting the Garmin Virb with it. I see the brackets come as a set, one long and one short. $15.00 shipped from Jenson USA.
PM me - perhaps I can send you one.
JonnyHK is offline  
Old 09-12-15, 11:35 AM
  #137  
SixPackABS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by WheresWaldo View Post
@SixPackABS I was able to have an email conversation with the guy that posted the video. I made changes to the ION mount based on those conversations. Shapeways customer service is very good and he was able to have them replace the mount with the revised one. I hadn't heard from him since that time. It was modified so that all side to side and up and down movement was eliminated.
Received the Ion Air CamLOCK Direct GoPro Mount today. Unfortunately it is too loose and wiggles a lot. Same problem as showed in youtube. It is also pliable. The Ion air pro will wiggle a lot if I use this mount.
SixPackABS is offline  
Old 09-12-15, 11:53 AM
  #138  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
Thread Starter
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,970

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Originally Posted by SixPackABS View Post
Received the Ion Air CamLOCK Direct GoPro Mount today. Unfortunately it is too loose and wiggles a lot. Same problem as showed in youtube. It is also pliable. The Ion air pro will wiggle a lot if I use this mount.
Can you PM me with the exact issues, maybe some pictures. I am here to try to make it right. I am not sure what I can do about the pliability other than using a more expensive method of manufacture and plastic/resin, but I want it to fit correctly. Let me know, please.
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  
Old 09-12-15, 12:08 PM
  #139  
SixPackABS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I tried to message you but "An error has occurred SixPackABS! You must have 50 posts in order send Private Messages. Your current post count is 17."
I took a short video of it here is the link https://www.flickr.com/photos/79080400@N08/21350016102/. The camlock adapter is not flush with the ion air pro camlock. It locks securely but not flushed hence it wiggles.
SixPackABS is offline  
Old 09-13-15, 07:06 AM
  #140  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
Thread Starter
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,970

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 15 Posts
@SixPackABS, I sent you a PM with my email address. Let's figure out what we can do with this.
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  
Old 09-16-15, 08:06 AM
  #141  
JonnyHK 
Senior Member
 
JonnyHK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,421

Bikes: Baum Romano, Brompton S2, Homemade Bamboo!

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked 200 Times in 127 Posts


I managed to get my hands on a HERO 3 casing and produced a new version of the mount that is a bit longer and has a 40deg bend in it to suit. Same idea, just mounted further out.




On the bike. Fits the standard GoPro mount (would be pointing up at 45deg angle on my first design!) and clears the saddle bag.


EDIT: I've sent one of my spare Fizik/Cateye mounts to WheresWaldo so he can work his magic on it...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
IMG_20150916_215330864.jpg (98.3 KB, 380 views)
File Type: jpg
IMG_20150916_215359602.jpg (89.4 KB, 386 views)
File Type: jpg
IMG_20150916_215426041.jpg (99.5 KB, 381 views)
JonnyHK is offline  
Old 09-23-15, 12:51 PM
  #142  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
Thread Starter
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,970

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 15 Posts
@JonnyHK, The clip arrived today. I will start modeling it in the next couple of days. Thanks.

BTW, the GoPro adapter looks good.
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  
Old 09-23-15, 02:57 PM
  #143  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
Thread Starter
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,970

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Fizik ICS Clip


This is just the Fizik clip, not the CatEye portion. I have to test print and then go to the bike shop to see if it fits. I only have ProLogo and Selle Italia saddles and no Fizik ones.

Since this is intended to be 3D printed, I eliminated the recesses to make the part stronger.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg
Fizik_ICS.jpg (17.8 KB, 373 views)
File Type: jpg
Fizik2_ICS.jpg (29.5 KB, 373 views)
File Type: png
Fizik3_ICS.png (71.9 KB, 372 views)
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  
Old 09-23-15, 08:38 PM
  #144  
dwmckee
Senior Member
 
dwmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 2,390

Bikes: Co-Motion Cappuccino Tandem,'88 Bob Jackson Touring, Co-Motion Cascadia Touring, Open U.P., Ritchie Titanium Breakaway, Frances Cycles SmallHaul cargo bike. Those are the permanent ones; others wander in and out of the stable occasionally as well.

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 306 Times in 203 Posts
Is 3D printing technology to a point where you could design and pritg a good shaped beam reflector for an LED headlight?
dwmckee is offline  
Old 09-23-15, 10:05 PM
  #145  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
Thread Starter
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,970

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 15 Posts
@dwmckee
Yes it is, but you would have to know something about reflectors and lenses to get the beam pattern correct.
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  
Old 09-24-15, 07:12 AM
  #146  
JonnyHK 
Senior Member
 
JonnyHK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,421

Bikes: Baum Romano, Brompton S2, Homemade Bamboo!

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked 200 Times in 127 Posts
Originally Posted by dwmckee View Post
Is 3D printing technology to a point where you could design and pritg a good shaped beam reflector for an LED headlight?

Getting the shape right is one part.

Printing it in a material that reflected well is another. Not so sure on this...
JonnyHK is offline  
Old 09-25-15, 04:14 AM
  #147  
JonnyHK 
Senior Member
 
JonnyHK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,421

Bikes: Baum Romano, Brompton S2, Homemade Bamboo!

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked 200 Times in 127 Posts


I'm having a bit of a go at combining my earlier design (in grey) with WheresWaldo's drafting up of the Fizik mount (blue).

Not going so well due to some technical issues with the CAD software though. The blue part isn't working so well as it is behaving differently to the elements that I drafted. Need to work that out.
Attached Images
JonnyHK is offline  
Old 09-25-15, 07:25 AM
  #148  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
Thread Starter
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,970

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Originally Posted by JonnyHK View Post
Getting the shape right is one part.


Printing it in a material that reflected well is another. Not so sure on this...
You would have to coat the inside of the reflector with some sort of silver paint, I would suggest smoothing out the surface first with either a topcoat or filler or vigorous sanding, then painting. It could be done, just would be a lot of work after the printing.


Originally Posted by JonnyHK View Post



I'm having a bit of a go at combining my earlier design (in grey) with WheresWaldo's drafting up of the Fizik mount (blue).


Not going so well due to some technical issues with the CAD software though. The blue part isn't working so well as it is behaving differently to the elements that I drafted. Need to work that out.

I can provide you with alternative solid files. What CAD program are you using?
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  
Old 09-25-15, 07:32 AM
  #149  
JonnyHK 
Senior Member
 
JonnyHK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,421

Bikes: Baum Romano, Brompton S2, Homemade Bamboo!

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked 200 Times in 127 Posts
Originally Posted by WheresWaldo View Post
You would have to coat the inside of the reflector with some sort of silver paint, I would suggest smoothing out the surface first with either a topcoat or filler or vigorous sanding, then painting. It could be done, just would be a lot of work after the printing.
I think that Acetone fumes are used to create smooth surfaces on PLA prints. Then some chrome paint.



Originally Posted by WheresWaldo View Post
I can provide you with alternative solid files. What CAD program are you using?
AutoDesk Fusion 360.

The element behaves strangely. Doesn't want to group, combine, intersect or cut.


From the import menu...
Attached Images
JonnyHK is offline  
Old 09-25-15, 07:39 AM
  #150  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
Thread Starter
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,970

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Newly revised and added ION Air Camera Mounts

@SixPackABS, You will be happy to note that I have redesigned all the IONAir mounts, they are, or at least should be, correctly sized. I had one heck of a time finding someone who actually had IONAir mounts for sale, but I ended up buying two sets online so I could compare the actual sizes.

I also added the following for ION CamLOCK:

CamLOCK to Garmin Quarter-turn mount


CamLOCK to Contour T-Rail mount

As well as LH Picatinny and RH Picatinny mounts for the paintball enthusiasts.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
CamLOCK-Garmin.jpg (28.4 KB, 380 views)
File Type: jpg
CamLOCK-Contour.jpg (23.7 KB, 376 views)
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.