Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Garmin 1030 blue tooth - frustrated !

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Garmin 1030 blue tooth - frustrated !

Old 01-15-23, 07:11 AM
  #1  
Ironhorse2022
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 12

Bikes: Domane SL6, Pivot trail

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Angry Garmin 1030 blue tooth - frustrated !

Hello,
I recently purchased a garmin 1030 refurbished from garmin. On first power up, it paired properly with my phone (BT Edge 1030). Ever since, the garmin unit canít connect with the phone. The phone showed two 1030 BT connections - BLE and BT. The BLE is connected and the BT is not. I tried turning BT off and on for the phone. I reset the Garmin and deleted both connections on the phone and tried to resend again this morning. I got as far as a pairing code on both screens which I accepted. Now the phone shows only BT Edge 1030 connected and the garmin screen still says ďwaiting for phoneĒ ??? I suck at this stuff and hate when it goes wrong. This is why Iíve always just used wired simple bike computers. Anybody have words of wisdom ? Iíll be on the phone with garmin tech support Mon morning
Ironhorse2022 is offline  
Old 01-15-23, 07:34 AM
  #2  
Kai Winters
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern NY...Brownville
Posts: 2,190

Bikes: Specialized Aethos

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked 192 Times in 115 Posts
Try "forgetting" all Garmin 1030 devices from your smart phone. Power off the phone, restart and link again to the Garmin device...see if that works.
You may have to start over with the Garmin by resetting it and starting like it's a new device.
You may still have a faulty Garmin...I've never trusted a "refurb" device...it's a roll of the dice and I don't like taking a chance with refurbs.
Kai Winters is offline  
Old 01-15-23, 08:48 AM
  #3  
Ironhorse2022
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 12

Bikes: Domane SL6, Pivot trail

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 8 Times in 4 Posts
It seems this lack of reliable BT connectivity was fairly common 2 yrs ago with 1030ís. At least I found a thread with like 50 entries all of people complaining of the same problem. The assumption at the time was a sw issue from garmin which I assume would be fixed by now if that were really the problem. Iím not very comfortable with refurb units either but with 30 days to return and a 2 yr warranty from garmin, Iím not to worried Ö yet. Was hoping that somebody who worked thru this issue 2 yrs ago may have some wisdom to share. As mentioned earlier, Iíll call garmin tech support tomorrow.
Ironhorse2022 is offline  
Old 01-15-23, 09:56 AM
  #4  
Iride01 
more daylight today!
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 12,459

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5105 Post(s)
Liked 3,601 Times in 2,498 Posts
Garmin had some issues with BT and phone connections at various times. They've fixed them in various updates. Have you got the most current software and firmware version on you Edge 1030? It can do updates through wifi if you set it up for such.

Regardless, if you call Garmin support on the telephone they will help you out.

I had issues back in 2020 with Bluetooth between my new Edge 530 and my Motorola phone. Garmin support said they were aware of the issue between that make of phone and their products. And that they would have an update out soon. The next day the update came and all was well.

Last edited by Iride01; 01-15-23 at 10:04 AM.
Iride01 is offline  
Old 01-15-23, 10:00 AM
  #5  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 6,162

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel, Specialized Epic Evo

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2740 Post(s)
Liked 1,471 Times in 854 Posts
The complete BT reset procedure. I used to have to do this about once per month.

On the phone and in the GCM app, from the
My Day page, select the More tab.
  • Select Garmin Devices in Garmin Connect Mobile
Select the Edge 1030.

Select the 3 dots on the top right and remove the device.

Remove from Bluetooth settings in your phone settings.

Remove Phone pairing from Edge
  1. Go to the Edge 1030 Menu.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Select Connected Features.
  4. Select Phone.
  5. Select Pair Smartphone.
  6. Select Forget this Phone.
Turn off the phone Bluetooth.

Turn off your device.

Select the More tab, on the lower right.

Select Settings.

Sign out of Garmin Connect Mobile.

Double tap the Home button on your iPhone (the round button the front) and swipe off all the applications.

Delete the GCM app from the phone

Restart the phone:

Once your phone boots up

Reinstall the GCM mobile app

Turn on Bluetooth and make sure that location services are on.

Go to Connect app and sign in.

Select, Browse All Compatible Devices.

Select Edge

Select Edge 1030

Put the Edge 1030 into pairing mode.
  1. Turn on device.
  2. Go to the Edge 1030 Menu.
  3. Select Settings.
  4. Select Connected Features.
  5. Select Phone.
  6. Select Pair Smartphone.
  7. Select Continue.
In Garmin Connect Mobile, follow directions to pair
Steve B. is offline  
Old 01-15-23, 12:22 PM
  #6  
Ironhorse2022
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 12

Bikes: Domane SL6, Pivot trail

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Wow !
First of all, thanks Steve for such a detailed response. A few questions:
1. Do you know if this is a hardware or software issue ?
2. You mentioned ďused to have to do this monthlyĒ. What did you do to avoid this nightmare ?
3. Do you know if the 1030 plus and 1040 are also plagued with this issue ?
4. Are the other brand leaders like wahoo known to have connection issues like this ?

thanks again for your help.

Iíll try your process this afternoon but itís doubtful I have the patience to do this on a regular basis. I think this unit is getting sent back.
Ironhorse2022 is offline  
Old 01-16-23, 09:15 AM
  #7  
Iride01 
more daylight today!
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 12,459

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5105 Post(s)
Liked 3,601 Times in 2,498 Posts
I think both of you need to talk to Garmin Support. There shouldn't be any need to go through all that stuff regularly. My son has a Garmin 1030 plus and he doesn't do all that stuff.

Make certain you have all the software and firmware updates!
Iride01 is offline  
Old 01-16-23, 10:09 AM
  #8  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 6,162

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel, Specialized Epic Evo

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2740 Post(s)
Liked 1,471 Times in 854 Posts
1. Do you know if this is a hardware or software issue ?

No clue, likely software.

2. You mentioned ďused to have to do this monthlyĒ. What did you do to avoid this nightmare ?

I noticed issues when Apple (I use an iPhone) was updating a lot and the Garmin would just lose its BT after an iOS update, thus I found these instructions and was resetting once a month or whenever Apple did an update, Garmin seemed slow responding and pushing updates. I got good at it, took maybe 5 minutes and all was well.

3. Do you know if the 1030 plus and 1040 are also plagued with this issue ?

Cannot speak for the Plus, but my 1040 has so far not seen these issues.

4. Are the other brand leaders like wahoo known to have connection issues like this ?

I have a Hammerhead Karoo 2. It only uses BT to have the phone push text, call and e-mail notifications to the devices. There are occasional comments on the HH FB forum complaining.

thanks again for your help.

Iíll try your process this afternoon but itís doubtful I have the patience to do this on a regular basis. I think this unit is getting sent back]

I would do it once and wait, test drive it a bit. I have not had BT issues on my 1030 in a long time, have not had to do a reset for a while, its been working so possibly Garmin fixed some stuff in an update
Steve B. is offline  
Likes For Steve B.:
Old 01-18-23, 09:46 AM
  #9  
Ironhorse2022
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 12

Bikes: Domane SL6, Pivot trail

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Well, to wrap up this thread, I followed Steve’s procedure ( thanks again) and all is working properly. Fingers crossed it stays that way.
Ironhorse2022 is offline  
Likes For Ironhorse2022:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.