Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Garmin 1030 Plus or Edge Explore 2? Just touring ...

Search
Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-23, 08:43 AM
hankj
Still trying

Bikes: Cutthroat, ti hardtail, town ebike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 11 Posts

Some help please selecting between the 1030 Plus and the Explore 2. I've never used a cycling computer before. My major goal is to get my phone off my handlebars. I ride locally and tour in Europe alone and with family most summers.

Would like to use Komoot to make my routes, have rerouting in computer, control music/media from the head unit, quality easy to see touch screen, upload completed rides to Strava. Hill profile would be nice too.

1030 Plus $506 all in new (used "like new" $440 Amazon)
Explore 2 $330 all in

How much better is the bigger screen on the 1030 plus? In terms of touch performance? In visibility for aging eyes?

Is the user interface significantly different between these models?

Does the navigation work the same or is one better than the other?

Thank you for advice - I'm feeling like springing for the bigger screen might be worth it but don't want to waste money either.
Old 04-25-23, 10:38 AM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Quoted: 6177 Post(s)
Liked 4,794 Times in 3,306 Posts
My son has a 1030 plus. The speed of map refreshing when you pan it around and the speed at which it uploads a finished ride to Garmin Connect is much better than my Edge 530 or even my son's Edge 820 that he had previously. So I think the processor in it must be much better. He also says the touch screen works better than his other touch screen Garmin's. Especially when wet from rain or sweat.