Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Back to basics - restarting training again...

Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Old 08-05-21, 11:27 PM
964racer

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Just new to this forum...A little background...
I've been cycling for about 30 years at various levels (I'm 61), from masters/cat 4 racing down to 25 miles/week fitness riding. For the last two years, I've been in the latter category. I didn't stop riding completely but due to other distractions/interests I have not been riding much. I recently became motivated to restart my training again. Not sure what my goals are but for the moment I would just like to get fitter and back to a level where I can ride with a fast group again. So, I started with about 100 miles/week in zone 1/2 and I've been increasing that about 10% week for the last 3 weeks. I'm slow and have a long way to go, but I'm starting to feel good again. That 100 miles/week includes a few short climbs (less than a mile) on the longer rides (30-40 miles) with easier rides in between. I'm finding that stacking a few days together and taking a day off in between (for 4-5 days/week of training) works well. I plan to gradually increase over the next few months to build my base.

Has anyone been in a similar situation and made a "come back" ? any suggestions / recommendations ? One of my primary goals is weight loss., I'm going to need to get rid of 20 lbs to get back to any kind of reasonable climbing speed....

Last edited by 964racer; 08-05-21 at 11:33 PM.
Old 08-07-21, 09:25 PM
guachi

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked 327 Times in 179 Posts