Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Frame not allowing 11 speed GS derailleur?

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Frame not allowing 11 speed GS derailleur?

Old 09-19-23, 03:59 PM
  #1  
deacon mark
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,959

Bikes: Habanero Titanium Team Nuevo

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked 180 Times in 118 Posts
Frame not allowing 11 speed GS derailleur?

My 2013 Wiler has 6700 with short cage derailleur. The rear cable runs through the chain stays and out to the housing stop on frame then to RD. Well, I bought new Shimano R7000 groupset with the longer cage derailleur. However due to the very small about of space between the cable coming out of frame to the rear derailleur, I cannot get a proper nice loop. The loop is very tight and it just does not allow smooth shifting.

Has anyone come across frames that just do not allow some configurations like this? I did not try an short cage derailleur and the Wilier is nice but all the tight cable in the frame has not been the smoothest for shifting. In the end it all has worked out because I took the 11 speed group set and put it on a Titanium Habanero frame. I have that had the Wilier's 10 speed groupset on it. So basically I swapped it back to the Wilier.

I will say though the Habanero with the new 1 R7000 groupset shifts beautifully and really nice set up, much to be said for exposed cables stops for easy of use.
deacon mark is offline  
Old 09-19-23, 06:07 PM
  #2  
SoSmellyAir
Method to My Madness
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 3,208

Bikes: Trek FX 2, Cannondale Synapse, Cannondale CAAD4, Santa Cruz Stigmata GRX

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1647 Post(s)
Liked 1,227 Times in 866 Posts
Originally Posted by deacon mark
My 2013 Wiler has 6700 with short cage derailleur. The rear cable runs through the chain stays and out to the housing stop on frame then to RD. Well, I bought new Shimano R7000 groupset with the longer cage derailleur. However due to the very small about of space between the cable coming out of frame to the rear derailleur, I cannot get a proper nice loop. The loop is very tight and it just does not allow smooth shifting.

Has anyone come across frames that just do not allow some configurations like this? I did not try an short cage derailleur and the Wilier is nice but all the tight cable in the frame has not been the smoothest for shifting. In the end it all has worked out because I took the 11 speed group set and put it on a Titanium Habanero frame. I have that had the Wilier's 10 speed groupset on it. So basically I swapped it back to the Wilier.

I will say though the Habanero with the new 1 R7000 groupset shifts beautifully and really nice set up, much to be said for exposed cables stops for easy of use.
Yes, I faced the same issue on my 2016 Cannondale Synapse (carbon). The RD cable is internally routed and exits the frame at the very end of the right chain stay right above the QR dropout. This bike originally came with a 105 RD-5800-GS. The newer generation of Shadow 11-speed rear derailleurs (e.g., RD-R7000 or RD-R8000) have a cable entrance that is higher and closer to the rear axle, so look like they would not shift as well, but you can try using the mandated OT-RS900 housing, which is more flexible. In my case, I just upgraded to Ultegra pulleys and bought a spare Ultegra RD-6800-SS (which I am going to install at the end of this year).
SoSmellyAir is offline  
Old 09-19-23, 06:43 PM
  #3  
deacon mark
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,959

Bikes: Habanero Titanium Team Nuevo

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked 180 Times in 118 Posts
Originally Posted by SoSmellyAir
Yes, I faced the same issue on my 2016 Cannondale Synapse (carbon). The RD cable is internally routed and exits the frame at the very end of the right chain stay right above the QR dropout. This bike originally came with a 105 RD-5800-GS. The newer generation of Shadow 11-speed rear derailleurs (e.g., RD-R7000 or RD-R8000) have a cable entrance that is higher and closer to the rear axle, so look like they would not shift as well, but you can try using the mandated OT-RS900 housing, which is more flexible. In my case, I just upgraded to Ultegra pulleys and bought a spare Ultegra RD-6800-SS (which I am going to install at the end of this year).
Here it is normally land ok on ss cage. The new r7000 gs cage the cable entrance is too close for proper loop.

deacon mark is offline  
Old 09-19-23, 07:49 PM
  #4  
SoSmellyAir
Method to My Madness
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 3,208

Bikes: Trek FX 2, Cannondale Synapse, Cannondale CAAD4, Santa Cruz Stigmata GRX

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1647 Post(s)
Liked 1,227 Times in 866 Posts
Originally Posted by deacon mark
Here it is normally land ok on ss cage. The new r7000 gs cage the cable entrance is too close for proper loop.
As I mentioned above, it is the new Shadow derailleur design starting with the RD-R7000/R8000 generation, regardless of cage length. If you want to upgrade to 11-speed, you can get a R7000 groupset and pair that with a RD-5800 or RD-6800 11-speed RD from the prior generation.
SoSmellyAir is offline  
Old 09-20-23, 12:05 AM
  #5  
FBinNY 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Rochelle, NY
Posts: 37,897

Bikes: too many bikes from 1967 10s (5x2)Frejus to a Sumitomo Ti/Chorus aluminum 10s (10x2), plus one non-susp mtn bike I use as my commuter

Mentioned: 134 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5351 Post(s)
Liked 1,790 Times in 1,016 Posts
Eons ago, I had a similar issue. I ended up making a rear loop out if model airplane SS fuel line.

Worked fine, except being rigid, it wouldn't allow the RD to be pulled back for wheel changes. I had to pull it back from the stop so the bare wire was a hinge.

I planned to improve it with a short section of housing at the chainstay, and the rigid tube only for the curve, but never bothered, because I removed the wheel so rarely.
FBinNY is offline  
Old 09-20-23, 01:10 AM
  #6  
choddo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked 155 Times in 120 Posts
Originally Posted by deacon mark
Here it is normally land ok on ss cage. The new r7000 gs cage the cable entrance is too close for proper loop.

mine is similar and working fine. I am using the recommended specific outer mentioned above. Maybe the exit on mine is a little more upward facing to start the loop?

choddo is offline  
Old 09-20-23, 02:28 AM
  #7  
jgwilliams
Senior Member
 
jgwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 835

Bikes: Dolan Tuono 105 Di2, custom built 653 and 531 bikes with frames by Barry Witcomb, Sonder Dial XT mountain bike and a Brompton folding bike.

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked 123 Times in 88 Posts
I'd say you've got the perfect excuse to upgrade to Di2. You're welcome.
jgwilliams is offline  
Likes For jgwilliams:
Old 09-20-23, 07:06 AM
  #8  
Kontact
Senior Member
 
Kontact's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6,034
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3699 Post(s)
Liked 1,020 Times in 680 Posts
In this case you might want to try using standard brake housing.
Kontact is offline  
Likes For Kontact:
Old 09-20-23, 07:50 AM
  #9  
Iride01 
I'm good to go!
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 14,149

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5838 Post(s)
Liked 4,456 Times in 3,072 Posts
You should be able to still get a RD-6800-GS. It has the cable going into the DR about the same as your RD-6700.

I imagine that bike manufacturers make their bikes cable routing go the way that suits the design of DR's they intend to put on them.

R6800





R7000 below...


https://bike.shimano.com/en-US/compo...erailleur.html

Might even find a 105 5800 if you look around


Last edited by Iride01; 09-20-23 at 07:54 AM.
Iride01 is offline  
Likes For Iride01:
Old 09-20-23, 12:42 PM
  #10  
deacon mark
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,959

Bikes: Habanero Titanium Team Nuevo

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked 180 Times in 118 Posts
Originally Posted by SoSmellyAir
As I mentioned above, it is the new Shadow derailleur design starting with the RD-R7000/R8000 generation, regardless of cage length. If you want to upgrade to 11-speed, you can get a R7000 groupset and pair that with a RD-5800 or RD-6800 11-speed RD from the prior generation.
Funny thing is I have a spare 6800 RD and putting up against the frame it would work fine. Clearly the Shadow design can cause issues. At this point no need to do anything. The old 10 speed stuff on my Wilier is fine. I will say though my build of my Habanero frame I got on ebay with the R7000 groupset went flawless and the bike shifts and performs super great. I manage to find and frame from about 2007 and fork for $575. Built up the spare TI bike for less than $1k, I had a spare wheelset.
deacon mark is offline  
Old 09-20-23, 01:32 PM
  #11  
alcjphil
Senior Member
 
alcjphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 5,792
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1747 Post(s)
Liked 1,609 Times in 921 Posts
I wonder if a Rollamajig would be of any help
alcjphil is offline  
Old 09-20-23, 04:08 PM
  #12  
grumpus
Senior Member
 
grumpus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked 244 Times in 193 Posts
Originally Posted by alcjphil
I wonder if a Rollamajig would be of any help
That's what I thought, or maybe one of those flexy V brake noodles
grumpus is offline  
Likes For grumpus:
Old 09-20-23, 08:54 PM
  #13  
SoSmellyAir
Method to My Madness
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 3,208

Bikes: Trek FX 2, Cannondale Synapse, Cannondale CAAD4, Santa Cruz Stigmata GRX

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1647 Post(s)
Liked 1,227 Times in 866 Posts
Originally Posted by choddo
mine is similar and working fine. I am using the recommended specific outer mentioned above. Maybe the exit on mine is a little more upward facing to start the loop?
Yes, the RD cable exit path on your frame points slightly upward, which helps quite a bit, whereas what deacon mark and I face is an RD cable exit path that is substantially parallel to the right chain stay.
SoSmellyAir is offline  
Likes For SoSmellyAir:
Old 09-20-23, 08:56 PM
  #14  
SoSmellyAir
Method to My Madness
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 3,208

Bikes: Trek FX 2, Cannondale Synapse, Cannondale CAAD4, Santa Cruz Stigmata GRX

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1647 Post(s)
Liked 1,227 Times in 866 Posts
Originally Posted by jgwilliams
I'd say you've got the perfect excuse to upgrade to Di2. You're welcome.
My next road bike will be Di2 for sure, yes, just to avoid having to redo shift cables every other year or so.
SoSmellyAir is offline  
Old 09-20-23, 09:11 PM
  #15  
choddo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked 155 Times in 120 Posts
Originally Posted by SoSmellyAir
Yes, the RD cable exit path on your frame points slightly upward, which helps quite a bit, whereas what deacon mark and I face is an RD cable exit path that is substantially parallel to the right chain stay.
Yeah. And the specific RD cable outer isnít flexible enough to save the day?
choddo is offline  
Old 09-20-23, 09:37 PM
  #16  
SoSmellyAir
Method to My Madness
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 3,208

Bikes: Trek FX 2, Cannondale Synapse, Cannondale CAAD4, Santa Cruz Stigmata GRX

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1647 Post(s)
Liked 1,227 Times in 866 Posts
Originally Posted by choddo
Yeah. And the specific RD cable outer isnít flexible enough to save the day?
OT-RS900 is much more flexible than the regular housing, which helps, but the cable housing path is still very short and tight.
SoSmellyAir is offline  
Likes For SoSmellyAir:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.