Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Road Vs mountain shoes (in my specific case)

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Old 03-28-20, 04:42 PM
dvai

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts

Hi all.

So I have been riding for 3 years and my performance has improved a lot. I began using mountain shoes with SPDs as a more "newbie" option.
However, at this point I was wondering if jumping into road shows with speedplay zero pedals would give me a significant benefit. Of note, I have high end mountain Mavic shoes with a very stiff sole, which I guess helps with power transfer.

The downside is that I already have mountain shoes and pedals.

But if switching to road pedals is something that will really give me a benefit in terms of power transfer (and maybe weight) I would be willing to but new shoes and pedals. I though about the speedplays as they are double sided and just by hearing people around, seems they are easier to use versus the traditional SPD-SLs.

Thoughts?
Thank you all for your response.
Old 03-28-20, 04:58 PM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Quoted: 6099 Post(s)
Liked 4,730 Times in 3,260 Posts
If you maxed out most other ways to increase your performance, I suppose then you might see some slight benefit to what some call road cleats.